SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Jesus Out To Sea


Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

'This collection is a triumph - moving, compassionate and tough' Observer. James Lee Burke is one of the most respected and praised crime writers in the world. He receives widespread and outstanding review coverage: 'Burke is a genius - this novel, complex, deeply mystical and violent, is another triumph' Guardian. 'His books are sustained by lush Southern-Gothic prose, fast-swerving plots, deep roots in history and an intensity of character that any novelist might envy' Independent. 'We always knew James Lee Burke was a master craftsman of the crime genre. This proves him to be more than that' The Times. Burke has won both major crime fiction awards: the Gold Dagger once and the Edgar Award twice. Pegasus Descending shortlisted for the 2007 CWA Duncan Lawrie Dagger. 'Powerful short stories, quietly and passionately told' Guardian.

About the Author

James Lee Burke is the author of many previous novels, many featuring Detective Dave Robicheaux. He won the Edgar Award in 1997 for 'Cimarron Rose', while 'Black Cherry Blues' won the Edgar in 1989 and 'Sunset Limited' was awarded the CWA Gold Dagger in 1998. He lives with his wife, Pearl, in Missoula, Montana and New Iberia, Louisiana.


A doubleheader from Burke, with the devastation wrought by Katrina as backdrop. The first is a paperback original featuring ten stories and the second brings back Burke stalwart Dave Robicheaux. Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

If you haven't yet discovered the great crime novels of James Lee Burke, you're in for a treat - EVENING STANDARD - David SextonBurke evokes people and landscape through a mixture of dialect and compelling descriptive prose - BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTHPowerful, evocative, emotional and wonderfully well written... eleven stories that are gems and written by a master - HUDDERSFIELD DAILY EXAMINER

The 11 previously published stories in this strong collection showcase Burke's handling of familiar themes and places, minus the trappings that accompany his popular Dave Robicheaux or Bill Bob Holland novels. The inevitable marriage of war and atrocity is powerfully described in the very brief Vietnam War tale, "The Village." The title story, one of two dealing with Katrina and its aftermath, shows the lasting damage of war on survivors. Both "Winter Light" and "A Season of Regret" feature disillusioned, stoical academics, loners coping with the encroachments of cruder society. Most wrenching and affecting are several coming-of-age tales: "Texas City, 1947" depicts brutalized children and contains a surprising d?nouement; "The Molester" and "The Burning of the Flag" both feature childhood friends from the WWII era confronting bullies or demons. Burke demonstrates impressive range, sensitivity and polish in these smaller-scale gems. (June) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Jesus Out To Sea on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top