Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

I've Been Meaning to Tell You
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today

About the Author

David Chariandy grew up in Toronto and lives and teaches in Vancouver. He is the author of the novels Soucouyant and Brother, and the nonfiction work I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter. In 2019, he won Yale's Windham-Campbell Prize in fiction.

Reviews

David Chariandy's letter to his daughter is in turns disquieting, heartfelt, unflinchingly, tender, wry; writ large with love throughout. It is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful books I have ever read -- Aminatta Forna
There is, as you pick it up, nothing to prepare you for its power, unless you already know Chariandy's fiction. He writes slender books that go straight to the heart ... But this new book is devastating in a new way because it is non-fiction - and personal * Observer *
Reminiscent of Coates's and Adichie's letters, I've Been Meaning to Tell You builds upon foundational discussions of race and gender, layering in intersections of class and citizenship with a flawless hand. Chariandy is smart, tender, and often funny as he weaves together narrative and analysis to navigate perhaps the most complex relationship of all: that of father and daughter * Sara Novic, author of Girl at War *
Chariandy's stunning book is both a precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble, as well as an incredibly personal and powerful letter to his daughter. I wish I could have read this when I was growing up * Nafkote Tamirat, author of The Parking Lot Attendant *
A brilliant, powerful elegy from a living brother to a lost one, yet pulsing with rhythm, and beating with life -- Praise for 'Brother', Marlon James, Man Booker Prize-winning author of 'A Brief History of Seven Killings'
I love this novel. Riveting, composed, charged with feeling, Brother surrounds us with music and aspiration, fidelity and beauty -- Praise for 'Brother', Madeleine Thien, author of Man Booker Prize-shortlisted novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing
Mesmerizing. Poetic. Achingly soulful -- Lawrence Hill, author of 'The Book of Negroes'

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top