How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Book 3)
By

Rating
The Icebound Land is the third thrilling book in John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice series - over eight million sold worldwide. Kidnapped after the fierce battle with Lord Morgarath, Will and Evanlyn are bound for Skandia as captives aboard a fearsome wolfship. But Halt has sworn to rescue them, and he will do anything to keep his promise - even defy his King. Expelled from the Rangers he has served so loyally, Halt is joined by Will's friend Horace as he travels towards Skandia. On their way, they face many challenges - but Horace knows a thing or two about combat. Soon he begins to attract the attention of knights and warlords for miles around with his uncanny skill. Even so, will they be in time to rescue Will from a horrific life of slavery? Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series and Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series.
Product Details

Promotional Information

The Icebound Land is the third thrilling book in John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice series - over eight million sold worldwide.

About the Author

John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband adventure series have sold more than eight million copies worldwide. His books are available in more than one hundred countries, are regularly on the New York Times bestseller lists, and have had multiple award shortlistings and wins in Australia and overseas. John, a former television and advertising writer, lives with his wife in a Sydney beachside suburb.

Reviews

Will and Evanlyn, introduced in the first volume of John Flanagan`s Ranger's Apprentice series (which PW called "an exciting tale of battle and honor"), find themselves kidnapped and aboard a slave ship, having fought the evil Morgarath at the end of the last book. As Horace and Halt head towards Skandia to rescue their friends, they discover that many challenges stand in their way in Ranger's Apprentice: The Icebound Land, the series' third installment. (Philomel, $16.99 256p ages 10-up ISBN 9780-399-24456-8; June) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Gr 5-9-The young Ranger apprentice, Will, faces capture by Skandian raiders in the icebound North in this audio presentation of John Flanagan's third installment (Philomel, 2007) in the series. Accompanied by friend Evanlyn, a young woman bearing a secret regarding her birthright, Will is tossed about in stormy seas aboard the ship of Seawolves who threaten to hold the pair hostage or sell them into slavery in Skandia, a Nordic-like homeland. New characters such as the ship's captain, Erak, are introduced by British narrator, John Keating, who deftly captures the gritty, sharp-tongued pirate voices and the soft-spoken teenaged captives. In alternating chapters, returning characters, Halt (Will's mentor) and Horace (Will's friend), are expelled from Araluen for insulting the King and decide to use the opportunity to set out and find Will. Their adventures alternate with Will and Evanlyn's dilemma and clearly steal the limelight as they travel on horseback through Gallica, being challenged at every turn by unscrupulous knights who are laugh-out-loud comical in their ineptness. Halt, as Horace's teacher, is a wise and multidimensional character, whose wry sense of humor will engage listeners and keep them on the edge of their seats as they try to anticipate his next move. Vivid imagery and detail make the medieval-like elements believable. Keating makes the production entertaining, and the cliff-hanging conclusion is sure to have fantasy fans hoping for another installment.-Vicki Reutter, Cazenovia High School, NY Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

"Laced with humour, credible characters and the poignancy of slavery and drug addiction, The Icebound Land is a gripping tale" * The School Librarian * "Dazzling in its detail, children will be unable to put this down" * Liverpool Echo * "A fantastic adventure with endearing characters. Five out of five stars" * www.bettybookmark.co.uk *

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Book 3) (Ranger's Apprentice) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top