Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Hurry Down Sunshine
By

Rating
New or Used: 4 copies from $4.94
One summer evening Michael Greenberg's daughter Sally was brought home by the police after rushing into a busy road in Greenwich Village, convinced she could halt the oncoming traffic. The mania had come over her abruptly: her habit of poring obsessively over poems late into the night or listening to music on her battered walkman for hours could be considered 'normal' teenage behaviour, and yet it was a clue to the internal tumult that was about to overwhelm her. Now her behaviour had moved from the realm of the adolescent and eccentric to the acutely unstable, and she needed professional help. And so just a few days later Michael found himself in the surreal world of a Manhattan psychiatric ward during the city's most sweltering months. Confused, anxious, looking for answers, he asked himself whether he was to blame. Perhaps this illness had been Sally's genetic inheritance. Perhaps, as a writer, he hadn't been able to provide the secure and stable home she needed. Sally's mother had left some time ago, finding life in the city suffocating, and his new wife, Pat, had not found it easy building a relationship with his clever, headstrong daughter. But looking around him at the other concerned families in the waiting room, he began to realise that the answers to his questions were not so simple. Touching, memorable and unsentimental, Hurry Down Sunshine is partly an insightful exploration of what mental illness has come to mean in our culture, and partly a moving memoir about how one family learns to cope with the prejudice and uncertainty that faces those affected by it.
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, The Bell Jar and The Year of Magical Thinking as well as Sally Brampton's Shoot the Damn Dog and Mary Louden's Dear Olivia More than ever before, high-profile figures are sharing their experiences of mental illness with a receptive public, such as Stephen Fry in his BBC documentaryThe Secret Life of the Manic Depressive For everyone who has loved, cared for or experienced someone close struggling with mental illness, especially parents

About the Author

A native New Yorker, Michael Greenberg left school at sixteen and went to Argentina, where he was a reporter during the infamous Dirty War. Since 2003 he has worked as a columnist for the Times Literary Supplement. His fiction and essays have appeared in many publications including the Boston Review, where he is a contributing editor. Michael Greenberg lives in New York with his wife and son.

Reviews

Times Literary Supplement (UK) columnist Greenberg's elegiac, beautifully crafted memoir chronicles the summer his teenaged daughter, Sally, lost her mind to madness. In it, Greenberg observes the experience and its effect on everyone involved with meticulous care. At times acutely painful, at times painfully funny, his story alternates between the progression of Sally's bewildering, frightening decline and Greenberg's own at times comically absurd experience as he simultaneously deals with a dependent brother suffering from his own demons; a difficult, obtuse wife; and a New Age ex-wife who, after each visit, offers cosmic explanations for her daughter's condition before retreating to her home in the country. Characters from the psychiatric ward where Sally spends nearly a month are often indistinguishable in their strangeness from the doctors themselves, giving the atmosphere of the hospital a hauntingly surrealistic air. The whole effect is one of a wrathful storm passing through Greenberg's life, turning every relationship upside down as it shattered any semblance of inner peace in both father and daughter and destroyed their ability to communicate at the time. Sure to become a new classic in the literature of mental illness; highly recommended for all public libraries.--Elizabeth Brinkley, Granite Falls, WA Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

'Touching, warmly intimate and unsparing' - Joyce Carol Oates 'Lucid, realistic, compassionate, illuminating. In its detail, depth, richness and sheer intelligence, Hurry Down Sunshine will be recognized as a classic of its kind' - Oliver Sacks, New York Review Of Books 'Restrained yet candid, it's a beautifully written book' -Blake Morrison, Guardian 'His prose is confident and measured, never overwhelmed by the turbulent emotion it records. He writes with a novelist's feeling for dialogue and scene' -Stephanie Merritt

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hurry Down Sunshine: A Father's Memoir of Love and Madness on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top