Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Human Rights, Inc.
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Joseph R. Slaughter is Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University and President of the American Comparative Literature Association.

Reviews

. . .this is a tremendously exciting book, leaping adroitly between literature, history, politics and philosophy. . . * -M/C Reviews *
. . . Seamlessly moves between discussions of philosophy, history, literary criticism, politics, and policy to support an original and compelling argument. * -Journal of Human Rights *
In Human Rights Ink, Joseph Slaughter reads the Bildungsroman as the "novelistic wing of human rights," persuasively arguing that both formations share a telos of incorporation. With a magisterial command of human rights discourse and sustained theoretical acumen, Slaughter offers dazzling readings of contemporary novels that are indebted to, haunted by, and in conversation with the Bildungsroman form. Doing so, he suggests how the reading of Bildungsroman becomes part of the process by which contemporary readers are incorporated imaginatively into a global imaginary of universal rights and responsibilities. And he explores how postcolonial writers test the form's limits, open its ambiguities, and reject its terms, as they represent the trauma of histories of violence. This book will be obligatory reading for anyone interested in the intersection of law and literature. -- -Sidonie Smith * University of Michigan *
Joseph Slaughter has written a bold, imaginative, visionary book. It is at the cutting edge of interdisciplinary legal scholarship. It offers a new and persuasive account of the relationship of law and literature while at the same time articulating a troubling and provocative account of the impact of human rights policies. This book is a must read. -- -Austin Sarat * Amherst College *
"Slaughter provides a trenchant analysis of the normative discourse of human rights by focusing attention on the links between the literary form of the Bildungsroman and international human rights law. Imaginative and wide-ranging, Human Rights, Inc. contributes decisively to the literature on the international English-language Bildungsroman, and to law-and-literature studies generally." -- -Marc Redfield * Claremont Graduate University *
Human Rights, Inc. is a book of huge erudition that effortlessly and elegantly combines history, literary theory and political philosophy. Joseph Slaughter compellingly argues that human rights operate according to the protocols of the market, turning human suffering and poverty into commodities and preparing their subjects for normalised and disciplined life. In a period when human rights and humanitarianism are used as pretexts for war and imperialism, this is an important book that brilliantly challenges the ruling illusions of the era. -- -Costas Douzinas * Birkbeck, University of London, author of Human Rights and Empire *
Human Rights Inc, is one of the most intense and intelligent reflections on the relation between the novel and human rights. But it is also a model of how students and scholars of literature can respond to the great humanitarian crisis of our time and transform the culture of human rights itself. -- -Simon E Gikandi * Princeton University *
Written in the tradition of Raymond Williams, Luka(accent over A) cs, Ian Watt and Edward Said, the study . . . extracts a fresh approach to what might be called 'the narrative human.' . . . It constructs its paradigm around a powerful thesis and demonstrates its points with clarity, consistency and intellectual nuance. . . . The tone is both sophisticated and accessible. . . . useful in courses that deal with the history of the novel, literature and human rights, and new paradigms of comparative literary internationalism. -- -Emily Apter * New York University *
The author clearly prefers depth and density--the argument is approached from multiplace angles, and nailed down tightly at every turn--and these qualities mark the book's dedication to rigorous scholarship. * -H-Net Book Review *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Human Rights, Inc.: The World Novel, Narrative Form, and International Law on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top