Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

A House In Corfu
By

Rating
New or Used: $7.17
Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
A House In Corfu is the story of one of the most beautiful places on earth, still astonishingly unspoilt, on the west cost of Corfu. n the early 1960s, Emma Tennant's parents, on a cruise, spotted a magical bay and decided to build a house there. his book is the story of that house, Rovinia, set in 42 hectares of land above the bay where legend had it Ulyssses was shipwrecked and found by Nausicaa, daughter of King Alcinous. It is also the story of the people who have been at Rovinia since the feast in the grove at the time of putting on the roof Maria, a miraculous cook and presiding spirit of the house, and her husband Thodoros and of the inhabitants of the local village, high on the hill above the bay.
Product Details

Promotional Information

A delightful book in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes

About the Author

Emma Tennant was born in London and spent her childhood in Scotland. Her most recent books include three volumes of memoirs, and a novel.

Reviews

How the popular novelist's parents built a house in Rovinia, above the bay in Corfu where Ulysses was reputedly shipwrecked. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Tennant, a London-based author (Sylvia and Ted), offers a delightful memoir of the years she spent visiting her parents' home on the Greek island of Corfu. During a vacation, Tennant's parents, then in late middle-age, became captivated by a remote area on the West Coast of the island. They bought a parcel of land above the bay where Odysseus is said to have been shipwrecked and built Rovinia, a house inaccessible by road; during the winters, rough waters made it impossible to reach the nearest harbor by boat. But isolation was precisely what her mother and father craved. Originally Rovinia was conceived as a vacation home, but in 1965, Tennant's parents gave up their London home and moved to Corfu permanently. Tennant details the problems with the actual construction of the house and the difficulties in securing an adequate water supply. As a frequent visitor, Tennant had her own room, and she came to know the island intimately. She eloquently renders the stark beauty of the landscape, the seductive, treacherous sea, the delicious cuisine (the family employed a local cook) and her family's friendships with local residents whose customs the newcomers came to understand and respect. Steeped in myth, Corfu remained virtually untouched for generations. On later visits, Tennant observed the changes wrought by the Greek military coup and increased tourism. Tennant's father died on Corfu in 1983, but Rovinia is still a beloved refuge for family members. This account of an alternative lifestyle undertaken before modern pop culture had reached all corners of the earth will appeal to travelers, expatriates and their admirers. Photos not seen by PW. (Feb. 1) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

"Tennant describes the spirit of enjoying another culture more gently, less aggressively than Mayle or even Mayes. She floats through it more dreamily, leaving an even greater desire for some other place."-Susan Salter Reynolds, "Los Angeles Times Book Review" "Exercise caution when reading this book-it's likely to induce a serious longing to hop on the next flight to Greece."-"Booklist" "A delightful memoir . . . [Tennant] eloquently renders the stark beauty of the landscape, the seductive, treacherous sea, the delicious cuisine."--"Publishers Weekly"

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Biography » General
Home » Books » Travel » Country Guides » Europe » Greece
Home » Books » History » Europe » Greece
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling A House In Corfu on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top