SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Holiday Murders
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The Holiday Murders explores a little-known and sometimes violent corner of Australian history, and finds oddly modern echoes in its paranoia, xenophobia, and ugly fervour.

About the Author

Robert Gott was born in the small Queensland town of Maryborough in 1957, and lives in Melbourne. He has published many books for children, and is also the creator of the newspaper cartoon The Adventures of Naked Man. He is the author of The Holiday Murders and its sequel, The Port Fairy Murders, and of the William Power series of crime-caper novels set in 1940s Australia: Good Murder, A Thing of Blood, Amongst the Dead, and The Serpent's Sting.

Reviews

'[M]ore than just a pulsating procedural thriller, Gott's novel presents an acute socio-political rendering of a nation haunted by an underworld of fascism and the bloodshed of war ... a fascinating cautionary tale that explores the wonderful bond between crime fiction and the shadows lurking in our collective past.'

-- Scott Macleod * Australian Book Review *

'The Holiday Murders is a new crime novel from Robert Gott, author of the "William Power" crime novels as well as many children's books. I hope it will be the first of many ... Drawing on the political and social milieu of the time and name-checking some of Melbourne's landmark streets and hotels, Gott's story rings true - as well as being a real page-turner. It's also a little grisly in parts. Fans of Kerry Greenwood, Sulari Gentill and any readers who like a little history with their crime will love The Holiday Murders.'

-- Pip Newling * Australian Bookseller and Publisher *

'Aficionados of all that's hard-boiled will thrill to the frisson.'

* Australian Financial Review *

'A spell-binding, fast-paced story ... [that] romps along at a rollicking pace ... Anyone who enjoys curling up in front of the television to watch Midsomer Murders, Inspector Morse or Phryne Fisher will relish Gott's work.'

-- Fran Metcalf * Courier Mail *

'A great addition to historical Oz crime fiction ... a fantastic read.'

-- Andrew Nette * Crime Factory *

'It's difficult to know where to start with the list of things I loved about this book ... Every time I thought I had worked out how things would resolve another element or twist came to light and the resolution, which I stayed up long past my bed time to get to, was a stunner. I'm hopeful this is the first of a series of novels featuring these characters and I highly recommend it.'

* Fair Dinkum Crime *

'The Holiday Murders offers everything you could want in a crime novel: tension, intrigue, complex characters (both male and female) and a powerful social context.'

-- Blanche Clark * Herald Sun *

'[An] excellent read with ... a strong plot and a surprise ending.'

* Launceston Examiner *

'Gott's new book is as close to perfect as a mystery can be.'

-- Christine Cremen * Sunday Age *

'A spell-binding, fast-paced story.'

* Sunday Territorian *

'What works best ... are the characters and their nicely judged relationships. Titus, Joe and Helen are keepers. More please.'

-- Sue Turnbull * The Saturday Age *

'A compelling story of guilt and redemption in wartime Australia.'

-- Garry Disher

'A riveting crime novel that is both intelligent and terrifying.'

-- Angela Savage

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Holiday Murders (The Murders series) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top