Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Great Hunt
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Robert Jordan was born in 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He taught himself to read when he was four with the incidental aid of a twelve-years-older brother, and was tackling Mark Twain and Jules Verne by five. He is a graduate of The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics. He served two tours in Vietnam with the U.S. Army; among his decorations are the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster, the Bronze Star with "V" and bronze oak leaf cluster, and two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palm. A history buff, he has also written dance and theater criticism and enjoyed the outdoor sports of hunting, fishing, and sailing, and the indoor sports of poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting.
Robert Jordan began writing in 1977 and went on to write The Wheel of Time(R), one of the most important and best selling series in the history of fantasy publishing with over 14 million copies sold in North America, and countless more sold abroad.
Robert Jordan died on September 16, 2007, after a courageous battle with the rare blood disease amyloidosis.

Reviews

Chosen by fate to become the Dragon Reborn--savior and destroyer of his world--young Rand al'Thor attempts to outrun his destiny by joining in a mad search for the lost Horn of Valere. Continuing the story begun in The Eye of the World ( LJ 2/15/90), Jordan creates a lush, sprawling tapestry of a novel in the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings. Recommended where fantasy is popular.

Praise for The Great Hunt

"Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal... The battle scenes have the breathless urgency of firsthand experience, and the... evil laced into the forces of good, the dangers latent in any promised salvation, the sense of the unavoidable onslaught of unpredictable events bear the marks of American national experience during the last three decades." - Edward Rothstein, The New York Times

"Those who like fantasy can rejoice. This is the genuine article... characters you can care about, a world you can believe in, hideous monsters, battles, magic, even love.
"I only have one problem. How am I going to get by until the next volume comes out?"-- John Lee, author of The Unicorn Solution

"Rousing, slam-bang... full of valiant skirmishes, great heroes, and close rescues. The real war is only beginning, but this one battle at least ends with the sort of grand finale worth re-reading a time or two." - Locus

"This is good stuff. To write one absorbing he long novel [The Eye of the World] is an achievement; to write two is miraculous, and [with The Great Hunt Jordan has] achieved the miracle... I shall certainly [line up] for the third volume." - Interzone
Praise for The Wheel of Time Book One
The Eye of the World

"New readers are advised to start with the first book, The Eye of the World. It may take you a year of steady reading, but by the next year you'll be chomping at the bit to jump on the [newest] book." - Robert Knox, MPG Newspapers


"Robert Jordan writes with the stark vision of light and darkness, and sometimes childlike sense of wonder, that permeates J.R.R Tolkien's works."--The Pittsburgh Press

"The Eye of the World is the best of its genre." - The Ottawa Citizen

"A major piece of fantasy. Jordan has not merely put old wine into new bottles; he has clothed old bones with new flesh." - Chicago Sun-Times

"Jordan's world is rich in detail and his plot is rich in incident. Highly recommended." - ALA Booklist

"A powerful vision of good and evil... [and] fascinating people moving through a rich and interesting world." - Orson Scott Card


"Magic and pacing and detail and human involvement, with a certain subtlety of presentation and a grand central vision. Robert Jordan... is a lot of writer!"--Piers Anthony


"An exciting story; the reader is drawn in early and kept there until the last page. There is adventure and mystery and dark things that move in the night- a combination of Robin Hood and Stephen King that is hard to resist... Jordan makes the reader care about these characters as though they were old friends." - Milwaukee Sentinel

"Goodness, life, and light are always in retreat, always about to be defeated, but never quite! Don't miss it!" - Andrew M. Greeley


"One hell of a story. [It] kept me up past my bedtime for three nights running-- and it's been a long time since a novel's done that. Jordan keeps the suspense acute and the surprises and invention beautifully paced. Compelling. An exhilarating experience" - Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Great Hunt (The Wheel of Time) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top