COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Great Halifax Explosion
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

John U. Bacon is the author of the national bestseller The Great Halifax Explosion and four bestselling books about college football, including Three and Out, Fourth and Long, Endzone, and Bo's Lasting Lessons, co-authored with Michigan coach Bo Schembechler. A former feature writer for the Detroit News, his writing has been recognized three times in The Best American Sports Writing series. He appears often on NPR and national television, including ESPN's 2019 documentary series on college football. He has taught at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism and the University of Michigan. A popular public speaker, he lives in Ann Arbor with his wife and son.

Reviews

"The Great Halifax Explosion is absorbing from first page to last. With deep research and evocative writing, John U. Bacon has brought back to life this devastating wartime event and illuminated its lasting meaning."--DAVID MARANISS, Pulitzer Prize winner, and author of Once in a Great City
"Fans of Ken Burns, Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat, and John Hersey's Hiroshima will find in John Bacon's meticulous reporting a story that literally rocked the world. This is a story with an enormous heart; this is an author with astounding range."--DOUG STANTON, New York Times bestselling author of The Odyssey of Echo Company
"[A] prodigiously researched and gripping account. ... [A] vivid narrative that make[s] extensive use of archive material, family histories and newspaper accounts."--Toronto Star
"An eternal story worth knowing. ... Well-researched and told in an engaging style."--San Antonio Express-News
"John U. Bacon's The Great Halifax Explosion is the seminal account of one of the bloodiest man-made disasters in world history, which killed some 2,000 people. This is a riveting, well-written and researched World War I book. Highly recommended!"--DOUGLAS BRINKLEY, author of Cronkite
"Many Americans are unaware of the terrible tragedy so ably described in this book. The author's inclusion of many personal accounts greatly enlivens the narrative. ... The Great Halifax Explosion sheds new light on this sad but fascinating event."--The Journal of America's Military Past
"A story of the triumph of the human spirit in the face of tragedy. Told convincingly and powerfully."--John Baldoni, Forbes
"A really remarkable book, exactly the kind I love reading. The research was put together with care to create a full portrait of an event and a moment in time -- and written with pace and craft. I just love it. I already want to read it again. I don't think I can really express my admiration adequately."--Glenn Stout, author of Fenway 1912

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Great Halifax Explosion: A World War I Story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top