COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Gown
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and #1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of Somewhere in France, After the War is Over and Moonlight Over Paris. She holds a doctorate from Saint Antony's College, University of Oxford. She lives in Toronto with her husband and young children.

Reviews

"A treat." -- People
"For fans of "The Crown," looking for history served up as intimate drama, and those seeking another angle on royal lives, "The Gown" seems likely to dazzle and delight. -- Washington Post
"Jennifer Robson embroiders life, friendship, and hope into the somber gray world of post-war London... The Gown is marvelous and moving, a vivid portrait of female self-reliance in a world racked by the cost of war." -- Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network
"...one of the most fun books you'll read this year." -- Women's Day
"In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!" -- Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale
"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth's wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!" -- Lauren Willig, author of The English Wife
"Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption." -- Leslie Carroll, author of American Princess: The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry
"A story of friendship, family bonds, and courage, The Gown is the ideal read for fans of historical fiction and royal watchers alike!" -- Brenda Janowitz, author of The Dinner Party
"Told through the eyes of three compelling women, The Gown is a heartwarming story of friendship, resilience, and the power of heirlooms to connect people through generations, sometimes in the most unexpected ways." -- Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost and Sold on a Monday
Jennifer Robson delivers a satisfying multigenerational epic linked by the intricate embroidery used on Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Robson's meticulous attention to historical details-notably the intricacies of the embroidery work-is a wonderful complement to the memorable stories of Ann and Milly, making for a winning, heartwarming tale. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Robson deftly weaves issues of class, trauma, romance, and female friendship with satisfying details of Ann and Miriam's craft. This unique take on the royal wedding will be an easy sell to fans of Netflix's The Crown and a sure bet for readers of women-centered historical fiction." -- Booklist (starred review)
"Robson vividly brings to life these three women's struggles. Historical details about fabric, embroidery, and the royal family are well incorporated into their stories, with light romance rounding out this charming work of historical fiction." -- Library Journal
"Robson's novel shifts deftly between... Toronto to London in 2016... giving meticulous attention to the historical detail of post-World War II London. A fascinating glimpse into the world of design, the healing power of art, and the importance of women's friendships." -- Kirkus Reviews
"A celebration of strength, resilience, and friendship, The Gown transports readers as Robson offers a richly detailed and meticulously researched glimpse of daily life in post-war Britain. An enchanting must-read for historical fiction fans!" -- Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana
"Jennifer Robson's novel is a behind-the-scenes look at the creation of Elizabeth's gorgeous wedding gown and its talented embroiderers. It tells of three generations of women overcoming adversity, and honors the strengthening power of friendship and art. It's a charming and romantic novel with style and substance." -- Christian Science Monitor

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Gown on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top