SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Good Daughter
By

Rating
Product Details

Promotional Information

A poignant and beautifully written story of three generations of women, beginning in Iran nearly a century ago, for fans of Reading Lolita in Tehran and Wild Swans.

About the Author

Born in Tehran to an Iranian mother and German father, Jasmin Darznik is an award-winning writer whose essays, short stories, and book reviews have been featured in the Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Women's Review of Books and other publications.Her writing is shaped by her experience as a former attorney specializing in immigration and family law as well as her current scholarship in Iranian-American literature. A doctoral candidate in English Literature at Princeton University, she has been the recipient of a University Fellowship, and has written extensively on literature by Middle Eastern women in exile.

Reviews

When Darznik (an English professor at Washington and Lee University) stumbles upon a photograph of her mother appareled and made up as a bride with a man not Darznik's father, she catches a glimpse into her mother's hidden Iranian history, a past that contains a former abusive husband and an abandoned daughter. Through cassette tapes made by her mother, Darznik recovers the lives of three generations of Iranians: her great-grandmother Pargol; her grandmother Kobra, whose marriage involves "countless separations, two divorces, and many more near divorces"; and her mother, Lili, in an account deeply enmeshed with other women's lives-aunts, mistresses, and in-laws. Darznik's telling veers closer to ethnography than memoir at times-courtship and marriage formalities, the complications of divorce for women, food preparation, household tasks, workplace details. Yet while the lives of Pargol, Kobra, and Lili are circumscribed by broad cultural strictures, each moves further toward unique individuality than her predecessor. Lili, married that first time at 13, does finish school, becomes a midwife, marries Jasmin's father (a German who converts to Islam to marry her), flees the Islamic revolution with her new family in 1979, makes a new life in the United States, and raises an American daughter. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

"Truly mesmerising" * Scotland on Sunday * "A beautifully recounted homage to her mother's life and struggles." * Booklist * "Richly detailed ... An eye-opening account that disturbs with its depiction of women in Iranian society, but warms the heart in its portrayal of their gritty endurance." * Kirkus * "Deeply affecting...How can you not feel for these women? Once you read this book, you will see Iran and Iranians with new eyes. A brilliant debut." -- Anita Amirrezvani, author of The Blood of Flowers "'an astonishing tale of two cultures miles apart yet inextricably linked through the daughter or a woman who had the courage to stand up and be counted.'" * Resident *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Good Daughter: My Mother's Hidden Life on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top