Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Girl Who Disappeared Twice (Forensic Instincts)
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Product Details

At the outset of this exciting if pat thriller from Kane (Dark Room), White Plains, N.Y., family court judge Hope Willis is not only terrified by the kidnapping of her five-year-old daughter, Krissy, but also devastated, because the crime is identical to the kidnapping of Hope's twin sister 32 years earlier. To find Krissy before the unthinkable happens, Willis hires Forensic Instincts, a crack investigation firm whose private status allows its members to get around procedures that those in law enforcement have to adhere to-like warrants. Led by profiler Casey Woods, the Forensic Instincts team barrels into a snarl of suspects, secrets, and conspiracies. Smooth prose and engaging characters help offset some fairly obvious plot twists, a few of which stretch credibility to the breaking point. Also somewhat unbelievable are the near-infallible skills of Forensic Instincts' members and the willingness of dozens of police officers and FBI agents to let the team skirt legal boundaries repeatedly with no more than a harsh word or two of censure. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Andrea Kane's psychological thriller THE GIRL WHO DISAPPEARED TWICE became an instant New York Times bestseller, the latest in a long string of smash hits. THE LINE BETWEEN HERE AND GONE is the next exhilarating installment in the Forensic Instincts series. With a worldwide following and novels published in over twenty languages, Kane is also the author of eight romantic thrillers and fourteen historical romances. She lives in New Jersey with her family.

Reviews

At the outset of this exciting if pat thriller from Kane (Dark Room), White Plains, N.Y., family court judge Hope Willis is not only terrified by the kidnapping of her five-year-old daughter, Krissy, but also devastated, because the crime is identical to the kidnapping of Hope's twin sister 32 years earlier. To find Krissy before the unthinkable happens, Willis hires Forensic Instincts, a crack investigation firm whose private status allows its members to get around procedures that those in law enforcement have to adhere to-like warrants. Led by profiler Casey Woods, the Forensic Instincts team barrels into a snarl of suspects, secrets, and conspiracies. Smooth prose and engaging characters help offset some fairly obvious plot twists, a few of which stretch credibility to the breaking point. Also somewhat unbelievable are the near-infallible skills of Forensic Instincts' members and the willingness of dozens of police officers and FBI agents to let the team skirt legal boundaries repeatedly with no more than a harsh word or two of censure. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

When Judge Hope Willis's daughter, Krissy, is kidnapped, it stirs up the past trauma of the kidnapping of Hope's twin sister, Felicity, when they were six years old. Felicity was never found, and the thought that this crime could happen a second time devastates Hope. Despite her husband's opposition, Hope calls in a private investigative team, Forensic Insights, led by Casey Woods, a skilled profiler who chooses to work outside the margins of the law. This leads to conflict with Casey's boyfriend, who heads the FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit, also working the case. Kane, a prolific author of historical romance and romantic suspense (Drawn in Blood), has delivered another page-turner and seems to be setting the stage for a new series. Verdict This well-written tale of romantic suspense, with its strong characters, will appeal to fans of Iris Johansen, Linda Howard, and Joy Fielding.-Beth Blakesley, Washington State Univ. Libs., Pullman (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"Andrea Kane sets new standards for suspense."-Lisa Gardner "Kane is a skilled writer, so the romantic complications...between her intelligent and driven main characters never get in the way of the suspense."-Milwaukee Wisconsin Journal Sentinel "Kane kicks off Forensic Instincts, her new series about a team of maverick investigators, with this fascinating story with sharply drawn characters, fast-paced dialogue, dark and dangerous minds-brilliant methodology and the types of cases mystery readers campaign to get."-RT Book Reviews on The Girl Who Disappeared Twice "Part brilliant character study, part icy thriller, here is a novel laced with romance and suspense."-James Rollins on Dark Room "A real page-turner! A keep-you-up-all-night romantic suspense."-Karen Robards on Run for Your Life "Andrea Kane delivers a spine-tingling tale."-Strand Magazine "Andrea Kane delivers the kind of edgy suspense and romantic tension that will rev up your pulse and keep you turning the pages."-Jayne Ann Krentz "Kane is an adroit master at romantic suspense, and she keeps the reader guessing to the very end."-Booklist "Smooth prose and engaging characters."-Publishers Weekly on The Girl Who Disappeared Twice

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Girl Who Disappeared Twice (Forensic Instincts) (Forensic Instincts) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top