Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


This is a beautifully written history of high society in Newport, Rhode Island, from the acclaimed author of "Party of the Century". Newport is the legendary and beautiful home of American aristocracy and the sheltered super-rich. Many of the country's most famous blueblood families - the closest thing we have to royalty - have lived and summered in Newport since the nineteenth century. The Astors, the Vanderbilts, Edith Wharton, JFK and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Doris Duke, and Klaus and Sunny von Bulow are just a few of the many names who have called the city home. "Gilded" takes you along as you explore the fascinating heritage of the Newport elite, from its first colonists to the newest of its new millennium millionaires, showing the evolution of a city intent on living in its own world. Through a narrative filled with engrossing characters and lively tales of untold extravagance, Davis brings the resort to life and uncovers the difference between rich and Newport rich along the way. It is an engrossing multigenerational saga that tells the real story of the rich and famous in Newport. Vibrant, praiseworthy writing: [Davis] brings splendidly colorful behind-the-scenes action and players up front (the "New York Times" on "Party of the Century"). It features 34 evocative black-and-white photographs. Written with insight and dramatic flair, "Gilded" gives you a rare peek into the cloistered coastal playground of America's moneyed elite.
Product Details

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments. Introduction. 1 The Season--1913. 2 The Isle of Peace. 3 Reversal of Fortune. 4 The New Newport. "The" Mrs. Astor. 5 Calculated Moves. Alva. 6 The Cottage Wars. Mamie. 7 Upstairs and Downstairs. Tessie. 8 Members Only. 9 Ladies First. Edith. 10 Fast Times. 11 A Very Good Year. Beatrice. 12 That Sinking Feeling. 13 The Binds That Tie. Eileen. 14 There Goes the Neighborhood. 15 Enemies and Eyesores. 16 Fire Sale. 17 Self Preservation. 18 All That Jazz. Jackie. 19 What a Swell Party This Is. 20 The Changing of the Guard. Minnie. 21 Anything Goes. Doris. 22 Tourist Attractions. 23 Who wants to Be a Millionaire? 24 Everything Old is New Again. 25 The Season--2008. Afterword. Bibliography. Photo Credits. Index.

About the Author

Deborah Davis is the author of the acclaimed books Party of the Century: The Fabulous Story of Truman Capote and His Black and White Ball and Strapless: John Singer Sargent and the Fall of Madame X . She is a writer and film executive who has worked as a story editor and story analyst for several major film companies.


'...a witty and informative guide to this most extraordinary of summer colonies.' (Country Life, January 2010).

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Gilded: How Newport Became America's Richest Resort on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top