COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Geopolitics of Nordic and Russian Gender Research 1975-2005
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Ulrika Dahl is a cultural anthropologist and Associate Professor of Gender Studies at Sodertorn University, Sweden, where she currently leads the Baltic Sea funded research project Queer(y)ing Kinship in the Baltic Region. She is senior editor of lambda nordica - Nordic journal of LGBTQ studies and associate editor of European Journal of Women's Studies. Marianne Liljestrom is Professor of Gender Studies at the University of Turku, Finland. She has published articles on Nordic and Russian/Soviet gender history, edited and written parts of several textbooks in Finnish on feminist theory and methodology. She is advisory board member for the journals European Journal of Women's Studies and lambda nordica, and member of the editorial board of NORA, Nordic Journal of Feminist and Gender Research. Ulla Manns is Professor of Gender Studies at Sodertorn University and was leading this research project, funded by the Baltic Sea Foundation. 2010- 2015 she was in the steering committee for Time, Memory and Representation: A Multidisciplinary Program on Transformations of Historical Consciousness (Riksbankens jubileumsfond). Within that program she's completing a study on memory politics in Western 19th century feminism.

Reviews

In the tradition of Sara Ahmed and Robyn Wiegman, the authors of this exemplary volume conceive of feminist knowledge as a 'living thing', formed through contests over borders, languages and institutions. The book [...] provides an important intervention into transnational feminist epistemology and historiography in its own right. But rather than seeking to tell a singular story, the three authors conceive of their different but linked locations as sites of struggle, travel and translation; importantly too, this work of teasing out institutional and geopolitical meaning is never done, but is the very work of the field. The authors grapple particularly well with the vexed questions of why feminist epistemology matters and to whom, charting the insides and outsides of these multiple fields and the stories told about them. Clare Hemmings, Professor of Feminist Theory, London School of Economics, United Kingdom With its cutting edge insights and compelling analysis, this book fills a gap in the study of specific Nordic and Russian communities of women's and gender studies [...] and it takes the reader to an unconventional discussion of gender studies in a highly contested geographical arena conceptualizing gender studies as a point of departure in knowledge production and as a field of power relations. Andrea Peto, Professor of Gender Studies at Central European University, Budapest, Hungary The taken-for-grantedness of 'the Nordic' and the 'East/West-Divide' is critically questioned [...]. The authors examine how this blind spot has made academic feminism contribute to a re/production of exclusionary, homogenous and hegemonic understandings of these geopolitical positionings, while, paradoxically, attending carefully to other epistemological questions about situatedness and politics of location. Nina Lykke, Professor of Gender Studies at Linkoping University, Sweden

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Geopolitics of Nordic and Russian Gender Research 1975-2005 (Sodertorn Academic Studies) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top