Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Forgotten Garden
By

Rating
New or Used: $13.15
Product Details

Promotional Information

The hugely accomplished second novel from quality commercial fiction's brightest new star, The Forgotten Garden does not disappoint Kate Morton's debut novel, The House at Riverton, was voted by Richard & Judy's viewers the Best Summer Read 2007 and has sold over half a million copies through Bookscan Highly commercial intelligent women's fiction - for fans of Sarah Waters, Daphne du Maurier and Kate Atkinson

About the Author

Kate Morton grew up in the mountains of southeast Queensland, Australia. She has degrees in Dramatic Art and English Literature and is currently a doctoral candidate at the University of Queensland. Kate lives with her husband and young son in Brisbane. The Forgotten Garden is her second novel. You can find more information about Kate and her books at www.katemorton.com.

Reviews

This is the second novel by the Queensland author of The Shifting Fog. The book opens with a little girl abandoned on a ship to Australia. She is secretly taken in by a childless family and loved as their own. When her origins are revealed on the night of her 21st birthday, Nell O'Connor's life changes forever. Decades later during the 1970s, she searches for the truth by returning to England, leading her to the windswept Cornish coast, and the strange and beautiful Blackhurst Manor, once owned by an aristocratic family. The story hops between memories of England in the early 1900s and Brisbane between the 1930s and 2005. On Nell's death, her granddaughter, Cassandra, comes into an unexpected inheritance. Cliff Cottage and its forgotten garden are notorious among the Cornish locals for the secrets they hold-secrets about the doomed family and their ward, a writer of dark Victorian fairytales. It is here that secrets about the family are revealed, and the century-old mystery of a little girl lost is solved. It will be easy to recommend this immediately captivating and atmospheric story to readers of historic fiction, who also enjoy a well- plotted mystery along the way. Meredith Wright is the owner of Dalton's Books in Canberra, and has been a bookseller for over 25 years

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Forgotten Garden on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top