SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

For The Most Beautiful
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In this startlingly original and thrillingly imagined debut, a brilliant new voice reveals the untold story behind the Trojan war- the princess and the slave who undid Achilles and fought to save Troy . . . Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier's The Girl with the Pearl Earring and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist

About the Author

Born in Brighton and brought up in Suffolk, EMILY HAUSER studied Classics at Cambridge where she was taught by Mary Beard. She then went to Harvard as a Fulbright Scholar and now studies and teaches at Yale, where she is completing her PhD. For the Most Beautiful - the first book in the Golden Apple trilogy - was her debut novel and retells the story of the siege of Troy. Her second, For the Winner, is a brilliant reimagining of the myth of Atalanta and the legend of Jason, the Argonauts and the search for the Golden Fleece.

Reviews

"Once in a while something comes along that's so utterly right, so necessary for now, that you wonder why nobody thought of it before. Emily Hauser's stunning debut novel . . . brings ancient Troy wildly, raucously, passionately alive and tells at last the stories of those who really mattered." -- MANDA SCOTT, bestselling author of Boudica and Into the Fire
"A feast for the senses, richly described and effortlessly easy to read. It brings to life an ancient world long gone, and in so doing reminds us of the traumas and costs of war, which are sadly still so much a part of our world today." -- MICHAEL SCOTT, presenter of Rome's Invisible City
"A delight from start to finish. Hauser's fresh perspective on one of the great archetypal epics, in focusing on the marginalised women's stories, makes for fascinating reading . . . a clever premise and a thoroughly enjoyable." -- ELIZABETH FREMANTLE, author of Sisters of Treason
"In her sparkling debut novel classicist Emily Hauser offers a fresh take on the old but living legend spun so artfully in Homer's Iliad . . . tells a ripping good story." -- PAUL CARTLEDGE, Professor of Ancient History at Cambridge
"A brilliant re-imagining of the Iliad, faithful to the original yet completely accessible . . . the two young women at the centre of the drama are faithfully representative of their time and place yet feel compellingly contemporary . . . Emily Hauser has given us a lively new take on a classic." -- TERRY HAWKINS, author of The Rage of Achilles
"Fascinating . . . highly convincing . . . a familiar tale told in an unfamiliar way. Presenting the story from the point of view of the women, rather than the warriors, gives Hauser's novel real edge and originality." -- Nick Rennison * BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE *
"Intensely described . . . there is no doubting Hauser's passionate involvement with, and knowledge of, her subject." -- Elizabeth Buchan * DAILY MAIL *
"Breathing life into these bit-part characters . . . written with energy and passion." -- Antonia Senior * THE TIMES *
"A new, feminine perspective on the events of the Iliad . . . a colourful tale of gods and mortals." * SUNDAY TIMES *
"This elegant, warm novel moves between two great Trojan beauties . . . through their stories, we witness both sides of this titanic war while feminine beauty and masculine martial prowess compete for the attention of the reader and the gods." * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
"Hauser's characters are brave, wilful, sometimes foolish, impulsive, and utterly relatable, and her portrayal of the manipulative, capricious gods is particularly wonderful . . . this quick-paced, enthralling retelling will attract readers who loved Madeline Miller's The Song of -Achilles" * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
"Colourful and entertaining . . . a very different story when seen through female eyes." -- Nick Rennison * BBC HISTORY magazine *
"Colourful and entertaining tale of gods and mortals, war and love." * History Today *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling For The Most Beautiful on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top