Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

For Love
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of Anita Shreve, Joanna Trollope and Anne Tyler. Published with a gorgeous cover to sit alongside her new novel The Senator's Wife

About the Author

Sue Miller is the author of the books While I Was Gone, The Good Mother, Family Pictures, For Love, Inventing The Abbots, The World Below, The Story of My Father, Lost in the Forest and The Senator's Wife. She lives in Boston.

Reviews

Perhaps because her work ( The Good Mother ; Family Pictures ) is seductively readable and sells so well, Miller has been underrated as a serious writer. Yet she tackles important themes and creates complex characters who must confront weaknesses in their own natures to come to terms with the conditions of their lives. This novel is her best to date, a forceful and resonant portrayal of a woman who is trying to escape from her past. Lottie and Cameron Reed and Elizabeth Harbour grew up in Cambridge, Mass., the Reeds in a ramshackle house across the street from the Harbour's elegant manse--a social chasm they became aware of as teenagers. Circumstances now bring them back together: her second marriage in jeopardy, Lottie has flown from Chicago to clean out her mother's possessions; self-absorbed, glamorous Elizabeth has fled a marital crisis; and Cameron, who has always adored Elizabeth, rekindles their old romance. The Reed siblings are emotionally dysfunctional, due in part to their impoverished childhoods as offspring of a father who was imprisoned for embezzlement and an alcoholic, abusive mother. Independent, willful but vulnerable, Lottie suffers from repressed rage and guilt, unconscious denial and an inability to give or accept love. A tragedy brings the various relationships into collision. Miller's writing is controlled, authoritative and charged with meaning; she excels in creating credibly flawed but appealing characters while exploring a larger question: Is love possible in the post-Freudian age? BOMC main selection. (Apr.)

'A tour de force by any standards ... One reason for Miller's popularity is that she earns her fans in a time-honoured way: she writes for readers' Newsweek 'Each of her characters is complete and distinctive, a compendium of lovable and exasperating traits ... Each character has a turn at capturing our full attention' Los Angeles Times 'Miller's special brand of intelligent emotionalism reaches its zenith here: it's deep, resonant, splendid' Kirkus Review 'For Love may be the most honest twentieth-century love story we've had in a while ... Sue Miller maps emotional terrain carefull, precisely, graphically, with a grit and grace that at first invite the reader's appreciation - and then, before we know it, have us involved ... a vivid allegory for all the harm that love can bring' New York Times Book Review

Fortyish freelance writer Lottie leaves her new husband in Chicago to spend part of the summer in Cambridge, Massachusetts, getting the family house ready to sell now that her brother Cameron has placed their alcoholic mother in a nursing home. While she and her son Ryan paint and clean, Lottie examines the concept of love in an article she is writing, studying her own troubled marriage and Cameron's resumption of a love affair with childhood sweetheart Elizabeth. For Elizabeth, who is staying with her mother after leaving her philandering husband, this romance is just a fling. But Cameron's obsessive love for the golden girl of his youth leads to the tragic accident at the center of this affecting story. Through the intelligent and captivating character of Lottie, Miller ( Family Pictures, LJ 4/15/90) explores the world of relationships with astonishing insight to create an engrossing, rewarding novel. Highly recommended.-- Patricia Ross, Westerville P.L., Ohio

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling For Love on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top