Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Flights of Passage
By

Rating
New or Used: 10 copies from $4.94
Product Details

Promotional Information

Ranks with the very best literature to come out of the Second World WarA must for fans of Fighter Boys and The Sky SuspendedThe author is an established writer and respected scholar

About the Author

Samuel Hynes was born in Chicago in 1924 and educated at the University of Minnesota and Columbia University. He served as a Marine Corps pilot from 1943-46 and 1952-53 and is the recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross (for his war service) and a Robert F. Kennedy Award (for The Soldiers' Tale). He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and Woodrow Wilson Professor of Literature emeritus at Princeton University. His other books include A War Imagined, The Soldiers' Tale and The Growing Seasons.

Reviews

'A consummate piece of war literature, with the feel of a turbulent time uncannily recreated ... conveys the wonder of flight with an understated lyricism' C.J. Fox, Independent 'His evocation of war, of witnessing death, of the last squalid days of fighting a beaten enemy, brings out the fullest compassion and the finest edge of his reporting. Flights of Passage must, without fail, be read' Richard Hough, Daily Telegraph 'Through [Hynes's] eyes, it's easy to understand why men cherish the red alert of war as a high point their lives will never again achieve, a time when the world seemed carefree and savage, passionate and disarming, with non-stop moments of hatred, love and deliverance' New York Times Book Review 'An unusual and moving book ... an authentic fragment, poignant and real, of a great and tumultuous past' Washington Post Book World

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Flights of Passage: Recollections of a World War II Aviator on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top