SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

First Sight

Contemplation can and will transform the lives of busy working men and women in a turbulent world. Books on meditation and contemplation are numerous but the huge success of Laurence Freeman's book and his organisation show that he has something to offer which is entirely distinctive. God for the author is not a funk hole or an oxygen tank. We cannot escape the realities of our lives by swallowing pills or lying on a psychiatrist's couch talking endlessly about ourselves. Christianity needs to restore its contemplative dimension, and stop arguing about women priests, civil partnerships and the apostolic succession. God is within and is accessible to all. Through 'The World Community for Christian Meditation' as in this book, Fr Freeman goes out to meet busy people involved in industry, education, ecumenism, the caring professions. For he believes that society can be transformed by the transformation of the hearts and minds of ordinary mortals, who do not have to be cloistered behind monastic walls.
Product Details

Table of Contents

Introduction; 1. Understanding Faith; 2. Process and Lifestyle; 3. The Power of Faith; 4. Stages of Faith: Purgation; 5. Stages of Faith: Illumination; 6. Stages of Faith: Union; 7. Christian Faith; 8. Unity; Appendix: Starting to Meditate.

About the Author

Laurence Freeman is a Benedictine monk of the Monastery of Monte Oliveto Maggiore. His books include Light Within, Web of Silence, and Common Ground. Laurence Freeman is the director of The World Community for Christian Meditation. This was founded by Fr Laurence's teacher John Main and is now present in more than a hundred countries.


Author article in The Tablet Reviewed in The Irish Catholic. Featured in the -new titles just published- section in Church Times.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Religion » Devotional
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling First Sight: The Experience of Faith on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top