SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Finding A Voice
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

KIM HOOD grew up in British Columbia, Canada. After earning degrees in psychology, history and education, she wandered through a few countries before making the west coast of Ireland home. Her eclectic work experience in education, therapy and community services has presented endless opportunity to observe a world of interesting characters. She has always had a passion for trying to understand life from the perspective of those on the fringes of society.

Reviews

deeply touching ... an inspirational heroine -- Irish Examiner a very moving story with many important and contemporary themes: loneliness; attitudes to disability both physical and mental; and how to be a carer when only a child ... This is Kim Hood's first novel and I look forward to more from this very talented author -- Armadillo Magazine a moving tale of friendship and troubled teenagers -- The Telegraph's Best YA Books of 2014 new fiction voice is quite a find ... assured and compelling ... you can't put it down! -- Westmeath Independent I've never felt so amazed and utterly moved by a story before in my entire life! It left me feeling inspired and really in awe ... you see the beauty about this book is that there is more than one person finding a voice ... they just don't know it yet. That ending!! ... I really and truly can't champion this brave and boldly fearless little bit of totally diverse fiction enough. Why oh why aren't there more books like this out there - all ages could learn a thing or two. I don't usually say this but - go buy it, please! I just know it's going to make my top 10 books of the year!' -- Fiction Fascination forty pages into this book and my heart was already broken ... as someone who has suffered with mental health difficulties, the idea of raising a child has always seemed fraught with difficulties. Many of my own fears were reflected in the experience of Jo and her mother and I was incredibly sad for this young girl with such an awful weight on her shoulders ... I can't wait to see what Kim Hood does next -- Bibliojacq Blogs I try to read books like this in one sitting, so I don't have to stop partway through exciting bits ... I'm going to reread this book for sure - make sure you read it! -- Nayu's Reading Corner It's not often these days that I am so enamoured with a book that I read it in one sitting and little did I know when I sat in the garden, one sunny Tuesday afternoon, and got up three hours later with a pretty numb backside and a sunburnt nose, that FINDING A VOICE would be that book. Beautifully written, heart-wrenching prose, honest and fragile characters and a touching story makes for one very special read ... this was such a special book and resonated with me on so many levels. Kim Hood's easy style of writing allows the emotion to shine through and enables the reader to really connect with the characters. The pacing flowed well and kept me engaged with the story which was so sweet and honest, it made my heart ache for Jo and Chris ... a story about friendship and unwavering hope, FINDING A VOICE is a book that will stay with you long after you've finished - touching and tender, it will make you laugh and cry ... perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and John Green - Highly recommend. -- What Danielle Did Next Finding a Voice is compelling, convincing, and considerably well-written. As well as acting as a testimony to the transformative power of friendship, this touching tale emphasises the importance of embracing each person's humanity- even one's own -- The Looking Glass anyone who wants more diversity in YA lit needs to read this. Not only does it handle mental health in a true to life way, it also features a main character with severe disabilities and does so brilliantly ... A lot of the issues in this book are very, very serious ones. It deals with mental health, physical disabilities and the danger of assuming you are aware of what is best for others when honestly you can't unless you are them. It is an 'issues' book but the beautiful writing and the characters within it are much more than their issues ... a beautiful book -- Readaraptor mental illness is an 'illness' which touches many people. I am one of those people and I now, after over fifteen years, feel ready to talk about it. However, when I was younger, I wish there had been a book that I could've related to, this is such a book ... a beautiful read ... powerful ... let's get it onto school reading lists! -- Sarah Broadhurst Reviews gives an honest, clear-eyed account of the challenges Chris and Jo have to deal with ... despite the uplifting ending, it is never sentimental ... a gripping story, well told, with rounded and appealing characters -- booksforkeeps.co.uk thought-provoking & engaging -- Booktrust a touching story about how help can come from unexpected places -- lovereading4kids.co.uk Finding a Voice is very, very good -- Deirdre O'Sullivan AMAZING Story! Extremely well written, and totally unexpected with a beautiful ending and a moral overtone that was addressed perfectly, without overshadowing the relationship between the main characters -- www.familiesonline.co.uk author Kim Hood ... certainly packs a punch in her story of friendship against the odds ... there are plenty of messages that could be drawn from these pages. But the one that comes over most strongly is that there is no such thing as 'normal' -- Evening Echo I would highly recommend this book ... 9/10 -- seomraranga.com touching and poignant story ... written with deep compassion and understanding, this is excellently written and will grip the reader's attention -- parentsintouch.co.uk a lovely heart-warming book that successfully inspires and showcases the true meaning of courage and friendship -- Safiyah, www.lovereading.co.uk couldn't put it down -- Natalie, www.lovereading.co.uk a heart-warming tale ... moving and compelling, but crafted by Hood in a way that makes it believable. For a debut novel, this book is utterly outstanding and a credit to Kim Hood- I hope there are many more to come! -- Morgan, www.lovereading.co.uk I really really liked this book! -- Imogen, www.lovereading.co.uk not so much a guidebook through adolescence, but more an assurance that it will get better -- WeLoveThisBook.com

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Finding A Voice: Friendship is a Two-Way Street ... on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top