Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Extremely Pale Rose
By

Rating
Extremely Pale Rose is the story of the hunt for the palest rose in France. While in Provence last summer, a French lady mistook a conversation about Jamie Ivey's niece Rose for a conversation about rose. From this misunderstanding sprang the challenge to find the palest rose in France. The French drink rose as an aperitif. It is seen as a poor cousin to red and white wine, certainly not meant to accompany food. But for many English holidaymakers, rose epitomises the south of France. Provence specialises in a particularly clear rose which has just a hint of colour. As a rule the paler the rose, the easier it is to drink in the sun, the more the English like it, and the more the French disparage it. This book is the lively account of the travels of three diverse personalities - Jamie, his wife Tanya and their ebullient friend Peter - as they search for the palest rose in France, visiting the main rose-producing areas: Champagne, the Loire, the Jura, Bordeaux, Dordogne, the Rhone, Provence, Languedoc and Corsica. All admirers of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Carol Drinkwater's Olive Farm series, will be richly entertained and informed by Extremely Pale Rose.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Travel book with a difference: an indiosyncratic personal quest to find the palest and best rose wine in France. Promotable young author who will appeal to readers of Chris Stewart's Driving Over Lemons and Annie Hawes' Extra Virgin, and Pete McCarthy's McCarthy's Bar

About the Author

Formerly a lawyer in London, Jamie Ivey elected to quit commuting and office life for a quest in France instead.

Reviews

Like rose, I found this book, light bright and pleasurable, best tasted in small sips and on a hot summer day' -- William Lyons SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY 'a delightful read for anyone hooked on the food wine and glorious scenery of France.' -- Yvonne Crittenden THE TORONTO SUN

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Extremely Pale Rose on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top