Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Expectation
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The MOST BUZZED-ABOUT, ADDICTIVE read of the summer- A fierce, emotional, contemporary novel about female friendship. For fans of Sally Rooney, Lisa Taddeo and Elizabeth Day

About the Author

ANNA HOPE studied at Oxford University and RADA. She is the acclaimed author of Wake and The Ballroom. Her contemporary fiction debut, Expectation, explores themes of love, lust, motherhood, and feminism, while asking the greater question of what defines a generation. She lives in Sussex with her husband and young daughter.

Reviews

"BEST BOOKS FOR JULY: Expectation has defied all my expectations and completely redefined the friendship novel. Each of the characters resonated with me and I'm in awe of the way Anna Hope captures what it means to be a woman, right here, right now, with all the precision of a surgeon's knife." * Red Magazine *
"Brilliant portrayal of long-term female friendships . . . I was gripped." * Prima *
"The real joy of this novel - while exploring just what second wave feminism has done for this generation of women ("you've had everything... we changed the world for you. For our daughters. And what have you done with it?") - is in it's writing; the dialogue and the honesty behind these characters who are doing their best, who are trying to live up to the fictional counterparts that they themselves have created... It's the perfect summer reading" * STYLIST MAGAZINE *
"Hope's writing is sublime and her characters so well fleshed out they will feel like friends at the end" * Good Housekeeping *
"Absolutely encapsulates what it means to be a young woman today, and beyond" * Grazia Magazine *
"A Sally Rooney-esque evocative examination of female friendship" * BEST SUMMER READS, i-newspaper *
"EDITOR'S CHOICE: I enjoyed this contemporary novel about the gulf between the expectation of how life will turn out and the reality... [it] taps into the current conversation about finding fulfilment and living a meaningful life." -- Alice O'Keeffe * The Bookseller *
"Jaw-droppingly good" * SARRA MANNING *
"Anna Hope has a way of getting inside difficult and painful moments, turning them inside out. I felt I knew these women as my own friends. Taut, electric, complex, funny." * RACHEL JOYCE bestselling author of THE UNEXPECTED PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY *
"Few novels leave me genuinely breathless with their brilliance. EXPECTATION is one of them. This book is beautiful. I am in AWE" * HANNAH BECKERMAN *
"Succulent, tender and honest, EXPECTATION is about the relationships between women: love, loss, triumph and betrayal. It was one of those books that knowingly flirted, then seduced me and then utterly ravished me" * TOR UDALL *
"Will resonate with approximately 99 % of all women" * RED magazine summer pick *
"A generation-defining book, honest and relatable on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like NORMAL PEOPLE with female friendship under the microscope" * ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID *
"I loved it. Raw, honest, unputdownable." * TAMMY COHEN *
"I tore through EXPECTATION at the weekend. Exceptional gorgeously written and reads like a love letter to London. I highly recommend it" * STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS *
"I absolutely loved this. What really appealed to me was the depiction of the parents, about legacy and about what the mother's generation leaves for the one that comes after" * ANNE YOUNGSON *
"A generation-defining book, honest and relatable on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like NORMAL PEOPLE with female friendship under the microscope" * ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID *
"An intimate and touching portrayal of female friendship that shows it's okay to just be" * NINA POTTELL *
"So fresh, human, kind and relatable" * JENNY COLGAN *
"Such a dark, relatable, elegant take on how time alters female friendships: how we become THESE people and our friends become THOSE people. Anyway, I loved it. You probably will, too" * LIZA KLAUSSMANN, author of Tigers in Red Weather *
"A deftly crafted hymn to the comfort and frustration of female friendship from one of our most gifted contemporary writers" * WATERSTONES *
"Sensual and evocative, deeply attuned to both the inner lives of the protagonists" * CULTUREFLY *
"The prose is beautiful, the characters achingly real, their flawed decisions enraging and yet somehow still relatable. This wonderful book will resonate with every woman who reads it" * LOUISE O'NEILL *
"One of the most intensely readable novels I've encountered this year" * METRO *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Expectation: 'The most buzzed-about addictive read' STYLIST on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top