Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Endless Steppe
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The moving true-life story of a young girl in exile in Siberia during World War II, which will appeal to fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Code Name Verity; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

About the Author

Esther Hautzig was born in Eastern Poland (in what is now Vilnius, Lithuania) in October, 1930. When the region was conquered by Soviet troops in 1941, Esther, her parents and her grandparents were uprooted and exiled to Siberia where they spent the next five years in forced labour camps. The family returned home after the war and in 1947 Esther left to go to the USA as a student. Her acclaimed novel The Endless Steppe was inspired by her gruelling wartime experiences. She was married to a concert pianist and had two children. Esther died in 2009.

Reviews

Radiates optimism and the resilience of the human spirit * Washington Post *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Classics
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Endless Steppe (The Originals) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top