Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Empty Mansions
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an extraordinary Dickensian story of wealth and eccentricity.

About the Author

Bill Dedman introduced the public to heiress Huguette Clark and her empty mansions through his compelling series of narratives for NBC, which became the most popular feature in the history of its news website, topping 110 million page views. He received the 1989 Pulitzer Prize in investigative reporting while writing for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and has written for The New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Boston Globe. Paul Clark Newell Jr, a cousin of Huguette Clark, has researched the Clark family history for twenty years, sharing many conversations with Huguette about her life and family. He once received a rare private tour of Bellosguardo, her mysterious estate overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Santa Barbara.

Reviews

Fascinating... A gripping rags-to-riches story * Daily Mail *
Extraordinary... An amazing tale -- Lynn Barber * Sunday Times *
Empty Mansions is at once an engrossing portrait of a forgotten American heiress and a fascinating meditation on the crosswinds of extreme wealth. Hugely entertaining and well researched, Empty Mansions is a fabulous read. -- Amanda Foreman
Dedman has a keen understanding of the public appetite for such a story and... is thorough, sympathetic and gently wry -- Cressida Connolly * Sunday Telegraph *
Absorbing... A powerful illustration of the pitfalls of wealth. * Financial Times *
Her story is one of the strangest and loneliest imaginable but, in this compassionate, engrossing account of it, Dedman and Newell have done their shy heroine justice. -- Lucy Moore * Literary Review *
An amazing story of profligate wealth, one so wild that 'American aspiration' doesn't begin to describe its excesses . . . An outsized tale of rags-to-riches prosperity * The New York Times *
An evocative and rollicking read, part social history, part hothouse mystery, part grand guignol. * The Daily Beast *
Empty Mansions is a dazzlement and a wonder... This is an enchanting journey into the mysteries of the mind, a true-to-life exploration of strangeness and delight. -- Pat Conroy
Empty Mansions reveals this mysterious family in sumptuous detail. -- John Berendt

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Biography » Business
Home » Books » Biography » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Story of Huguette Clark and the Loss of One of the World's Greatest Fortunes on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top