Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Empire Rising
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Sweeping Historical Saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Jean Auel

About the Author

Born and raised in New York, Sam Barone attended Manhattan College, graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1965, with a major in Psychology. After a hitch in the Marine Corps, he became a software developer and manager. After spending nearly 30 years in the software development game, he retired in 1999 to start working on his second career- writing.

Reviews

This sequel to Dawn of Empire opens just a few months after the climactic battle for the walled city of Akkad in Mesopotamia. Eskkar, former barbarian warrior, finds the responsibilities of ruling a city during peacetime boring and burdensome. In an attempt to put his time to good use while waiting for the birth of his first son, Eskkar leaves his young wife, Trella, to govern the city so he and half his soldiers can ride into the nearby lands to discourage outlaw activity and establish secure lines of trade and commerce. Taking advantage of his absence, an unscrupulous Egyptian trader captures Trella and gains control of Akkad, threatening the lives of its citizens. As he did with his first novel, Barone is likely to garner rave reviews with his second. Characters who may have been a bit underdeveloped previously are vividly fleshed out here. Additionally, Barone continues to do what he does best-write excellent detailed description of warfare during the Bronze Age. Few writers of historical fiction can rival Barone when it comes to bloody, gruesome, page-turning battle scenes. It might appeal to male readers who enjoyed the film 300. Recommended for public and university libraries.-Jane Henriksen Baird, Anchorage P.L., AK Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Barone returns to the cradle of civilization in his sanguinary sequel to Dawn of Empire. Lord Eskkar, a former barbarian who earlier saved the city of Akkad from almost-certain defeat, and Lady Trella, an erstwhile slave and his wife, now rule the "biggest city on the Tigris." Hoping to crush the bandits marauding in the countryside and extend Akkadian rule, Eskkar dispatches one band of soldiers south from Akkad and leads another north. In Eskkar's absence, Korthac, a newly arrived Egyptian warrior posing as a trader, schemes to infiltrate the city with his followers and seize power. Korthac sends assassins to track down Eskkar, and bandits south to ambush the returning Akkadian soldiers. Inside the city, his followers attack the soldiers left behind to keep order and take a pregnant Lady Trella prisoner. The ruthless Korthac plans to kill Trella once his rule is established, but, unknown to him, Eskkar survives and is preparing to retake the city. The frenetic action might be predictable, but it's never boring. The setting is convincingly rendered, and the characters-heroes and villains-are sharply drawn. Fans of ancient historical fiction will enjoy this instructive journey to the dawn of civilization. (Oct.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

"Beautifully imagined and researched adventure, with terrific action!" -- Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Empire Rising on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top