Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes
By

Rating
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection If you like to think big, but some say you're too small, or they say you're too young or too slow or too tall... Meet Dr. Bath-the scientist who never lost sight of her dreams! As a girl coming of age during the Civil Rights Movement, Patricia Bath made it her mission to become a doctor. When obstacles like racism, poverty, and sexism threatened this goal, she persevered-brightening the world with a game-changing treatment for blindness! The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes: The Story of Dr. Patricia Bath is the second book in a brand new educational series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists! In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you'll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Dr. Bath herself!
Product Details

About the Author

Julia Finley Mosca is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet--mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books. Daniel Rieley is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working three years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last two years, Rieley has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Rieley is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.

Reviews

Praise for THE GIRL WHO THOUGHT IN PICTURES (Amazing Scientists series): "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."--School Library Journal "The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."--Kirkus Reviews "I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields."--Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza Praise for Amazing Scientists series: "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."--School Library Journal "Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."--Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."--Booklist A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection Praise for THE GIRL WHO THOUGHT IN PICTURES (Amazing Scientists series): "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences." --School Library Journal "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist." -- Booklist "The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person." -- Kirkus Reviews "I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza "Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously." -- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes: the Story of Dr. Patricia Bath on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top