SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Dinner
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

HERMAN KOCH is the author of seven novels and three collections of short stories. "The Dinner," his sixth novel, has been published in 25 countries, and was the winner of the Publieksprijs Prize in 2009. He currently lives in Amsterdam.

Reviews

"A European "Gone Girl.".."The Dinner," a sly psychological thriller that hinges on a horrific crime and its consequences for two families, has become one of spring's most anticipated suspense novels." - "The Wall Street Journal" "Poised to shake up American publishing...Koch tells a story that could very well take away your appetite." --USA Today.com "[A] deliciously Mr. Ripley-esque drama." --"O, The Oprah Magazine"" ""You'll eat it up, with some fava beans and a nice Chianti." --"Entertainment Weekly " "Koch's ability to toy with the reader's alliances while using one family's distress to consider greater societal ills gives the novel a vital punch." --"Daily Beast"" ""A tart main course that explores how quickly the facade of civility can crumble. It's hard to digest at times, but with a thought-provoking taste that lingers." --"Cleveland Plain Dealer"" ""The novel has been called the "Gone Girl" of the Continent, and not without cause: Like Gillian Flynn's bestseller, it's a tale told by an unreliable narrator, full of twists and skillfully executed revelations, ultimately registering as a black parable about the deceptively civilized surface of cosmopolitan, middle-class lives...What Koch achieves with his prose--plain but undergirded by breathtaking angles, like a beautiful face scrubbed free of makeup -- is a brilliantly engineered and (for the thoughtful reader) chastening mindfuck. The novel is designed to make you think twice, then thrice, not only about what goes on within its pages, but also the next time indignation rises up, pure and fiery, in your own heart." --Salon.com" ""Briskly paced and full of ingenious twists--a compulsive read...for those who can tolerate the unsavory company, "The Dinner" is a treat they'll gulp down in one sitting." --"Dallas Morning News" ""The Dinner" begins with drinks and dark satire, and goes stealthily and hauntingly from there. It's chilling, nasty, smart, shocking and unputdownable. Read the novel in one big gulp, and then make plans with friends--you'll be desperate to debate this book over cocktails, appetizers, entrees, dessert...and then you still won't be done talking about it." - Gillian Flynn, author of "Gone Girl""Funny, provocative and exceedingly dark, this is a brilliantly addictive novel that wraps its hands around your throat on page one and doesn't let go." - SJ Watson, author of "Before I Go to Sleep" "Herman Koch has written a sneakily disturbing novel. He lures us into his story with his unfailingly reasonable tone (just acidic enough to be entertaining), and before we know it we've found ourselves in places we never would've consented to go. "The Dinner" is a smart, amiably misanthropic book, and it's tremendous fun to read." - Scott Smith, author of "The Ruins" ""The Dinner" is a riveting, compelling and a deliciously uncomfortable read. Like all great satire it is both lacerating and so very funny... Intelligent and complex, this novel is both a punch to the guts and also a tonic. It clears the air. A wonderful book." - Christos Tsiolkas, author of "The Slap" "What a tremendous book. I loved every single gripping and strange thing about it." - MJ Hyland, author of "Carry Me Down""By the end of "The Dinner" you'll have to rethink everything, including who you are and what you believe. This is a book you won't forget." - David Vann, author of "Dirt""Mesmerizing and disturbing... fast-paced and addictive..."The Dinner," already a bestseller in Europe, is sure to find an enthusiastic American readership as well." - "Book Page" "This chilling novel starts out as a witty look at contemporary manners...before turning into a take-no-prisoners psychological thriller...With dark humor, Koch dramatizes the lengths to which people will go to preserve a comfortable way of life...this is a cunningly crafted thriller that will never allow you to look at a serviette in the same way again." - "Publishers Weekly"(starred review) "A high-class meal provides an unlikely window into privilege, violence and madness...Koch's slow revelation of the central crisis is expertly paced, and he's opened up a serious question of what parents owe their children, and how much of their character is passed on to them...a chilling vision of the ugliness of keeping up appearances." - "Kirkus"International Praise for "The Dinner""The perfect undemanding, credible, terrifying beach read." --"Financial Times"''["The Dinner"] proves how powerful fiction can be in illuminating the modern world...The reader does not rise from his table happy and replete so much as stand up suddenly, pale and reeling. Bored with "Fifty Shades of Grey "and all that brouhaha? Read "The Dinner"--and taste the shock." - "The Economist" "I'm confidently predicting that "The Dinner" will become this summer's literary talk of the town--and the Twittersphere--here in the UK, as it already is in Continental Europe, where the novel has sold more than a million copies. Order yours now." --"Evening Standard" "Shivers kept shooting up my backbone as I became engrossed in Koch's darkly disturbing tale of family life. . .As the dinner disintegrates into mayhem, we discover just how far the middle classes will go to protect their monstrous offspring." --"Daily Mail" "Rather like "The Slap" it is set to become a contentious must-read. It may thrill, chill or cheat, but it is undeniably riveting." --"The Independent" "This tense and thought-provoking family drama is set to become a major literary talking point as it asks the question: Just how far would you go to protect your family?" --"The Bookseller" "Hugely accomplished and surprisingly subtle." --"Readers Digest" (UK)

Originally published in 2009, this best-selling Dutch novel is now available in English so the world can indulge in the dark comedy of award-winning author Koch (Save Us, Maria Montanelli). At an upscale restaurant in the Netherlands, two couples have dinner and a much-needed conversation about their sons. Koch employs the narrative frame of a menu (aperitif, appetizer) to slowly unveil how these couples know each other and the rippling effect their children's actions have caused. By the time dessert is served, the reader knows that the two men are brothers, and the narrative takes on Tolstoyan overtones, with each unhappy family unhappy in its own way. In a single setting, Koch successfully deploys multiple narratives of a single event to effectively show that our construction of history, and constant attempts at overdetermining the future, is problematic. VERDICT A shocking, humorous, and entertaining novel that effectively uses a misanthropic narrator in leading us through a fancy dinner, with morally savage undertones. Recommend for fans of Yasmina Reza's God of Carnage and Christos Tsiolkas's The Slap. [See Prepub Alert, 8/27/12.]-Joshua Finnell, Denison Univ. Lib., Granville, OH (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Dinner on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top