Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Dean Koontz

One of the most prolific and popular contemporary novelists, Dean Koontz has captivated both young and mature readers alike. This critical companion examines his mature fiction, including his most popular recent novels, "Watchers", "Lightning" and "Dark Rivers of the Heart". Its intention is to provide both conventional and alternative reading so that students and readers who love Koontz's fiction can develop their critical skills. Other novels examined in depth are "Phantoms", "Strangers", "Midnight", "The Bad Place", and "Mr Murder". Seven other Dean Koontz novels are examined in comparison to these as well. A biographical chapter sketches Dean Koontz's background and suggests some ways in which growing up as the child of an abusive alcoholic has affected his work. A chapter on genre shows that Koontz combines elements of a number of genres in his writing and that his fiction is moving in the direction of mainstream fiction. Kotker's discussion of Koontz's increasingly sombre world view shows him to be a writer deeply concerned with issues of individual freedom. Each chapter deals with one novel in depth and makes comparisons to other novels in his canon. The discussion of each novel includes sections on plot, character development, setting, point of view, and thematic issues. Each novel is also examined from an alternative critical approach, providing the reader with an additional perspective.
Product Details

Table of Contents

Series Foreword by Kathleen Gregory Klein The Life of Dean Koontz Genre Phantoms (1983) Strangers (1986) Watchers (1987) Lightning (1988) Midnight (1989) The Bad Place (1990) Mr. Murder (1993) Dark Rivers of the Heart (1994) Intensity (1995) Bibliography Index

Promotional Information

Celebrates and analyzes the work of popular novelist Dean Koontz.

About the Author

JOAN G. KOTKER teaches English at Bellevue Community College in Bellevue, Washington. She created and teaches a course on popular literature. Her essays on popular fiction have been published in It's a Print, In the Beginning, Women Times Three, Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing and Great Women Mystery Writers (Greenwood Press, 1994).

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dean Koontz: A Critical Companion (Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers S.) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top