Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Dangerous Book for Boys
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

/ Key title If ever there was a book to make you switch off your television set, The Dangerous Book for Boys is it. / The must-have book for boys from eight to eight.y / Lavishly designed, attractive package with black and white illustrations throughout, and colour plate sections. / For fans of Schott's Miscellanies; Ernst H Gombrich's Little History of the World; The Guinness Book of Records, The Pocket Book of Patriotism. / This is the perfect gift for Father's Day, school holidays and special occasions; as well as being an ideal self-purchase. / Conn Iggulden is the number one bestselling author of the Emperor series. / Will appeal to anyone who has read or reads Tintin, Asterix, the Beano, the Eagle, 'choose your own adventure' stories, Roy of the Rovers, Biggles, Just William, Flashman, Patrick O'Brian and Hornblower. / Uniquely combines nostalgia with the gift of future memories.

About the Author

Born in London, Conn Iggulden read English at London University and worked as a teacher for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. He lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and children. Conn Iggulden is the author of the number one bestselling Emperor series. Hal Iggulden was born in 1972. He lives in Leicester and is a theatre director with a love of astronomy, gadgets, dogs and football.

Reviews

This abbreviated version of the bestselling book from across the pond ambitiously tries to live up to its billing as "the perfect book for every boy from eight to eighty." Though younger boys will find much to ponder in such "Questions About the World" as "How far away are the stars?" and "Why is the sky blue?," as well as profiles of super-courageous people, they may find denser passages on famous battles of the world (Hastings, Crecy, Lexington and Concord) a bit slower going. Wyman is a game tour guide to all things boy, infusing his narration with a `did you know...?' enthusiasm that will hook a broad listenership. Sections on girls and first aid (including CPR and setting breaks) are also meant for a slightly older crowd, but lots of boys of varying ages (and their dads) will find this enlightened nonfiction compendium of essential guy stuff hard to resist. In addition to the wealth of information provided, Conn Iggulden reminds listeners in a brief afterword that being a man ultimately means being honest, loyal, kind and unselfish-oh, and "keeping clean, body and mind." Ages 10-up. (July) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Praise for `The Dangerous Book for Boys'

`The perfect handbook for boys and dads.' Daily Telegraph

'Full of tips on how to annoy your parents'. Evening Standard

'An old-fashioned compendium of information on items such as making catapults and knot-tying...the end of the PlayStation may have been signalled.' The Times

'Just William would be proud. A new book teaching boys old-fashioned risky pursuits...has become a surprise bestseller.' Daily Mail

'If you want to know how to make crystals, master NATO's phonetic alphabet...and build a workbench, look no further.' Time Out

Gr 4-8-Intentionally old-fashioned and politically incorrect, this eclectic collection addresses the undeniable boy-appeal of certain facts and activities. Dozens of short chapters, in fairly random order, cover a wide range of topics in conversational prose. Simple instructions for coin tricks and paper airplanes alternate with excerpts from history such as "Famous Battles" and facts about ancient wonders of the world and astronomy. The "dangerous" aspect is more apparent in such chapters as "Making Cloth Fireproof," and "Hunting and Cooking a Rabbit," but also applies to the overall premise that action is fun and can be worth the risks. A section on stickball, for instance, includes advice to possibly "flee the vicinity" in the event of a broken window. The information is appropriately concise. The knot-tying section, for example, sticks to five basic varieties with clear instructions and useful diagrams. Occasional topics such as "Marbling Paper" and "Latin Phrases Every Boy Should Know" may not fit the stereotypical interests of young males, but support the general theme of cultivating curiosity. The authors refer to their own experiences as they tested the activities, lending an appealing personal tone. Tongue-in-cheek humor emerges throughout, notably in eight bits of advice offered in the chapter called "Girls." Already a best seller in England, this American edition features several adjustments, such as substituting "The Declaration of Independence" for "Patron Saints of Britain." Both premise and content should appeal to many boys, and might be even more successful when nostalgic dads join in.-Steven Engelfried, Multnomah County Library, OR Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Dangerous Book for Boys on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top