Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Dandy Gilver and a Deadly Measure of Brimstone
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in late 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

About the Author

Catriona McPherson was born in the village of Queensferry in south-east Scotland in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University. She left with a PhD in Linguistics and spent a few years as a university lecturer before beginning to write fiction. The first Dandy Gilver novel was short-listed for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 2005 and the second was long-listed for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award 2007. Catriona writes full-time and divides her time between southern Scotland and northern California.

Reviews

This is a beguiling book whose 1920s setting, light tone, and beautifully developed main characters draw you ever deeper into the central puzzle, or perhaps puzzles, which take on an increasingly dark tone as the story progresses. The background is utterly convincing, and there is a considerable amount of pleasure in simply learning more about Scotland in the 1920s. Most important of all, however, is that this is a thoroughly enjoyable read whose whose twists and turns are genuinely intriguing. An absolutely outstanding murder mystery... - UndiscoveredScotland.co.uk on DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES1930s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, Corpses serves up murder most foul - and is also good for several giggles. - Time Out on DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSESDandy Gilver is: - -Brisk, baffled, heroic, kindly, scandalised and - above all - very funny. - GuardianA winning heroine. - IndependentThe most engaging and ingenious crime-cracker I've met in ages. - Scotland on SundayWonderful . . . a lesson to us all. - ScotsmanA delightful heroine. - My Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dandy Gilver and a Deadly Measure of Brimstone (Dandy Gilver) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top