Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Health & Wellbeing » Family & Relationships

Dancing in the Dark

My Struggle Book 4 (Knausgaard)

By Karl Ove Knausgaard, Don Bartlett (Translated by)

RRP $37.99 $34.63   Save 9%
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from Europe
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 560 pages
Published In: United Kingdom, 26 February 2015
18 years old and fresh out of high school, Karl Ove Knausgaard moves to a tiny fisherman s village far north of the polar circle to work as a school teacher. He has no interest in the job itself - or in any other job for that matter. His intention is to save up enough money to travel while finding the space and time to start his writing career. Initially everything looks fine- He writes his first few short stories, finds himself accepted by the hospitable locals and receives flattering attention from several beautiful local girls. But then, as the darkness of the long polar nights start to cover the beautiful landscape, Karl Ove s life also takes a darker turn. The stories he writes tend to repeat themselves, his drinking escalates and causes some disturbing blackouts, his repeated attempts at losing his virginity end in humiliation and shame, and to his own distress he also develops romantic feelings towards one of his 13-year-old students. Along the way, there are flashbacks to his high school years and the roots of his current problems. And then there is the shadow of his father, whose sharply increasing alcohol consumption serves as an ominous backdrop to Karl Ove s own life

Promotional Information

The fourth part of a sensational literary cycle that has been hailed as 'perhaps the most important literary enterprise of our times' (Rachel Cusk, Guardian).

About the Author

Karl Ove Knausgaard s first novel, Out of the World, was the first ever debut novel to win the Norwegian Critics Prize and his second, A Time to Every Purpose Under Heaven, was widely acclaimed. A Death in the Family, the first of the My Struggle cycle of novels, was awarded the prestigious Brage Award. The My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece wherever it appears.


"A living hero" -- Jonathan Lethem * Guardian * "A work of genius" -- Ben Lerner * London Review of Books * "Fires every nerve ending while summoning in the reader the sheer sense of how amazing it is to be alive" -- Jeffrey Eugenides * New York Times * "Beautifully human... Being drawn into his world is an ineluctable pleasure" -- Melissa Katsoulis * The Times * "It has strong claim to be the great literary event of the twenty-first century" * Guardian *

EAN: 9781846557255
ISBN: 1846557259
Publisher: Harvill Secker
Dimensions: 23.4 x 15.3 x 3.9 centimetres (0.35 kg)
Age Range: 15+ years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dancing in the Dark: My Struggle Book 4 (Knausgaard) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.