Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

A Curious Tale of the In-Between
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Product Details

About the Author

Lauren DeStefano is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Internment Chronicles and The Chemical Garden trilogy, which includes Wither, Fever, and Sever. She earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut.LaurenDeStefano.com @LaurenDeStefanolaurendestefano.tumblr.com.

Reviews

I dare you not to fall in love with Pram, a young heroine who is as gutsy as she is compassionate. Lauren DeStefano has created a touching and unforgettable glimpse into the world of the spirits.--Ellen Potter, author of the Olivia Kidney series and THE HUMMING ROOM Anyone who's ever wanted to unravel a family mystery with the help of two friends--one living and one dead--will be charmed by this tale and its plucky heroine, Pram. Early in the story, Felix the ghost tells us the living are never happy where they are. But I couldn't have been happier while reading about Pram and her desire to be someone's daughter. Hope there are more adventures to come from Pram and her pals.--Kate Klise, author of DYING TO MEET YOU A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye.--starred review "Publishers Weekly on WITHER " A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending.--starred review "School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1 " DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard.--starred review "Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1 " "Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read." --Kirkus Reviews"The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky." --Booklist"DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.'" --Publishers Weekly"Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try." --School Library Journal"The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale." --The Horn Book"A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye." --Publishers Weekly on WITHER"A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending." --School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1"DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard." --Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1 Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read. Kirkus Reviews The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky. Booklist DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.' Publishers Weekly Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's Rules for Ghosting and Grave Images by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try. School Library Journal The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale. The Horn Book A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye. Publishers Weekly on WITHER A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending. School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1 DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard. Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1" Readers will be hooked from the first line of this lyrical and suspenseful mystery/fantasy (part thriller too) of a brave and compassionate girl. . . . DeStefano artfully concocts a moving and multilayered tale that is an effective mix of genres and tones, at times contemplative and philosophical yet also macabre and psychologically sophisticated. Love, loss, and hope are at the heart of this exciting read. "Kirkus Reviews" The perfect book to hand to readers looking for the mysterious and spooky. "Booklist" DeStefano creates a beguiling world through haunting images and descriptions. . . An eerie, moving story about 'that murky place between this world and the one that comes after it.' "Publishers Weekly" Startlingly dark. . . Sophisticated readers will appreciate the vivid characters with rich internal lives. Readers who enjoyed A.J. Paquette's "Rules for Ghosting" and "Grave Images" by Jenny Goebel will want to give this title a try. "School Library Journal" The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant. . . Fans of Holly Black's "Doll Bones "may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale. "The Horn Book" A harrowing debut. . . . DeStefano has an observant eye. "Publishers Weekly on WITHER" A concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending. "School Library Journal on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1" DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard. "Booklist on PERFECT RUIN: THE INTERNMENT CHRONICLES BOOK 1"" "I dare you not to fall in love with Pram, a young heroine who is as gutsy as she is compassionate. Lauren DeStefano has created a touching and unforgettable glimpse into the world of the spirits." --Ellen Potter, author of the Olivia Kidney series and "The Humming Room ""Anyone who's ever wanted to unravel a family mystery with the help of two friends--one living and one dead--will be charmed by this tale and its plucky heroine, Pram. Early in the story, Felix the ghost tells us the living are never happy where they are. But I couldn't have been happier while reading about Pram and her desire to be someone's daughter. Hope there are more adventures to come from Pram and her pals." --Kate Klise, author of "Dying to Meet You " "[A] harrowing debut . . . . DeStefano has an observant eye." --"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Wither""[A] concoction of tension and love with a cliff-hanger ending." --"School Library Journal," starred review, on "The Internment Chronicles Book 1: Perfect Ruin " "DeStefano has created a perfect storm--intertwining plot, characters, and setting beautifully. . . . This is a page-turner, and waiting for the next book will be hard, hard, hard." --"Booklist," starred review, on "The Internment Chronicles Book 1: Perfect Ruin "

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling A Curious Tale of the In-Between on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top