COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Creation Machine
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For readers of Peter F. Hamilton, Alastair Reynolds and Iain M. Banks, CREATION MACHINE is the stunning first instalment in an SF sequence - The Spin trilogy - within an artificial planetary cluster with a turbulent past and an even more violent present . . .

About the Author

Born in 1965, Andrew Bannister grew up in Cornwall. He studied Geology at Imperial College and went to work in the North Sea before becoming an Environmental Consultant. For the day job, he specialises in green transport and corporate sustainability, but he has always written - initially for student newspapers and fanzines before moving on, encouraged by creative writing courses, to fiction. He's always been a reader and has loved science fiction since childhood. From the classics of the 50s and 60s to the present day, he's wanted it all- space, stars, astonishment and adventure - and now he's discovered that writing it is even better. Andrew lives in Leicestershire.

Reviews

Debut novelist Andrew Bannister comes to the genre with his talents fully formed in the ambitious, compulsively readable Creation Machine . . . [it] has everything: intriguing far-future societies, exotic extra-terrestrial races, artificial galaxies and alien machines dormant for millions of years. Bannister holds it all together with enviable aplomb. -- Eric Brown * GUARDIAN *
Balancing bursts of action with expansive world-building, immersive prose and sharp dialogue, Bannister has written a colourful debut that conjures up the same kind of gnarly, lurid weirdness that made Iain M. Banks' SF epics so memorable. * SFX *
An excellent read that ticked the boxes for me. Augmented humans up to and including one as a cloud of nanomachines, Banksian drones and cruel politics. Grotesque and interesting alien life, and characters I cared about - all written in an engaging style. -- NEAL ASHER
A thrilling debut . . . delivers in spades everything I'm looking for in a Space Opera - imaginative settings, strange aliens, an arsenal of unusual weapons, and, most of all, characters I like and who I want to know what happens to them. This is a book that is fast-paced and stylish, but not one where its literary merits outweigh its sheer enthusiasm and sense of enjoyment . . . It reminded me of the first Peter F. Hamilton I read in its sense of epic-ness, or the first Iain (M.) Banks I read in its intelligent plotting and its sense of humour . . . I can't recommend this one highly enough . . . should be a monster. -- Mark Yon * SFFWORLD *
Bannister's a fresh, vivid and inventive voice, and Creation Machine's epic roller-coaster gives modern space opera a much-needed shot in the arm. The scale is Cinemascope, but he keeps a clear and intelligent focus on his characters, settings and ideas. -- IAN R. MACLEOD
I really enjoyed Creation Machine: fast-paced, intelligent SF, action-packed and immersive. -- ADRIAN TCHAIKOVSKY, author of Children of Time
Bannister's exemplary world building brings a sense of awe to Creation Machine - you can't help but marvel at his descriptive prowess . . . a beautiful space opera. * SCiFiNOW *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top