Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Part I. Law Itself, in General: 1. The essence of law; 2. The different kinds of law; 3. The effects of law; Part II. The Parts of Law: 4. Of the eternal law; 5. Of the natural law; 6. Of human law; 7. Of the divine law.

Promotional Information

An unparalleled commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law, providing a go-to text for one of the foundations of laws, ethics and morality.

About the Author

J. Budziszewski is a Professor of Government and Philosophy at the University of Texas, Austin. He also teaches courses in the religious studies department and in the law school, and he maintains a personal scholarly website, www.undergroundthomist.org. Dr Budziszewski has published widely in both scholarly journals and magazines of broader readership. His books include The Resurrection of Nature: Political Theory and the Human Character (1986), The Nearest Coast of Darkness: A Vindication of the Politics of Virtues (1988), True Tolerance: Liberalism and the Necessity of Judgment (1992), Written on the Heart: The Case for Natural Law (1997), winner of a Christianity Today book award in 1998, The Revenge of Conscience: Politics and the Fall of Man (1999), What We Can't Not Know: A Guide (2003), Evangelicals in the Public Square: Four Formative Voices (2006), Natural Law for Lawyers (2006), The Line Through the Heart: Natural Law as Fact, Theory, and Sign of Contradiction (2009) and On the Meaning of Sex (2012).

Reviews

'In this much-needed contribution to the lively debates that currently rage about natural law theory, Budziszewski provides a superb line-by-line commentary on the complete text of Aquinas' Treatise on Law - the first complete commentary of this sort in centuries. The Commentary offers insightful comments on the implications of modern philosophical developments for interpreting and evaluating the positions taken by Aquinas. An enormously valuable text, not only for scholars specializing in the field but also for those just embarking on a careful study of the work.' Fr. Joseph W. Koterski, S.J., Fordham University, New York
'Budziszewksi's depth and clarity make this commentary on St Thomas an indispensable tool for student, teacher and scholar. Providing an overall context for each question, then pairing his own paraphrase with the translation of the Dominican Fathers, Budziszewski proceeds to comment in detail on each objection, sed contra, answer and reply to objection. The important yet difficult Treatise on Law is laid open to our full view by Professor Budziszewski - clearly the fruit of many years of close study.' John Hittinger, University of St Thomas, Houston
'No area of public life is more confused than law and what it is. In this context, few books could be more significant than a complete, accurate and thorough reading and rereading of Aquinas' famous Treatise on Law. Budziszewski has performed an enormous service to intelligence and to clarity of public order in providing this detailed, yet readable and intellectually profound, commentary. It is a demanding book about a demanding topic, one that has been left too long unexamined in the tradition of Aquinas.' James V. Schall, S.J., Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University, Washington DC
"In this much-needed contribution to the lively debates that currently rage about natural law theory, Budziszewski provides a superb line-by-line commentary on the complete text of Aquinas' treatise on law - the first complete commentary of this sort in centuries. The Commentary offers insightful comments on the implications of modern philosophical developments for interpreting and evaluating the positions taken by Aquinas. An enormously valuable text, not only for scholars specializing in the field but also for those just embarking on a careful study of the work." Fr. Joseph W. Koterski, S.J., Fordham University, New York
"Budziszewksi's depth and clarity make this commentary on St Thomas an indispensable tool for student, teacher and scholar. Providing an overall context for each question, then pairing his own paraphrase with the translation of the Dominican Fathers, Budziszewski proceeds to comment in detail on each objection, sed contra, answer and reply to objection. The important yet difficult Treatise on Law is laid open to our full view by Professor Budziszewski - clearly the fruit of many years of close study." John Hittinger, University of St Thomas, Houston
"No area of public life is more confused than law and what it is. In this context, few books could be more significant than a complete, accurate and thorough reading and rereading of Aquinas' famous Treatise on Law. Budziszewski has performed an enormous service to intelligence and to clarity of public order in providing this detailed, yet readable and intellectually profound, commentary. It is a demanding book about a demanding topic, one that has been left too long unexamined in the tradition of Aquinas." James V. Schall, S.J., Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University, Washington DC

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top