The Collected Fiction of Katherine Mansfield, 1916-1922


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Fiction 1898-1915; 1898; Enna Blake; 1899; A Happy Christmas Eve; 1901; The Great Examination; 1903; The Pine Tree, The Sparrows, and You and I Misunderstood; She; A True Tale; 'It was a big bare house'; 'I am afraid I must be very old-fashioned'; Two Ideas with One Moral; 1904; Die Einsame (The Lonely One); Your Birthday; One Day; 1905; About Pat; 1906; My Potplants; Les Deux Etrangeres; Juliet; 'I was never happy', Huia said; Memories; The Tale of the Three; 1907; L'Incendie; Vignette: Summer in Winte; Summer Idyll; Night Came Swiftly; She and the Boy; or the Story of the Funny-Old-Thing; 'She unpacked her box'; Vignettes; Vignette: Through the Autumn Afternoon; Silhouettes; In a Cafe; In the Botanical Gardens; Leves Amores; The Story of Pearl Button; Vignette: Sunset Tuesday; 'On waking next morning'; An Attempt; Vignette: Westminster Cathedral 'She sat on the broad window-sill'; The Man, the Monkey and the Mask; 1908; The Education of Audrey; Juliette Delacour; The Unexpected Must Happen; Vignette: By the Sea; In Summer; The Yellow Chrysanthemum; The Thoughtful Child; Her Literary Aspirations; Vignette: They are a ridiculous company; The Thoughtful Child; Rewa; The Tiredness of Rosabel; Study: The Death of a Rose; Youth and Age; Vignette: I look out through the window; Almost a Tragedy: The Cars on Lambton Quay; 1909; A God, One Day on Mount Olympus; 'He met her again on the Pier at Eastbourne'; Prose; His Sister's Keeper; 1910; The Child-Who-Was-Tired; Germans at Meat; Mary; The Baron; The Luft Bad; At 'Lehmann's'; Frau Brechenmacher Attends a Wedding; The Sister of the Baroness; Frau Fischer; A Fairy; Story; 1911; A Birthday; The Modern Soul; The Festival of the Coronation; The Journey to Bruges; Being a Truthful Adventure; The Advanced Lady; The Swing of the Pendulum; A Blaze; The Green Tree: A Fairy Story; 1912; A Marriage of Passion; At the Club; The Woman at the Store; Green Goggles; Tales of a Courtyard; How Pearl Button Was Kidnapped; Spring in a Dream; New Dresses; The Little Girl; The House; Old Cockatoo Curl; 1913; Ole Underwood; Epilogue I: Pension Seguin; Millie; Epilogue II; Bains Turcs; Old Tar; Maata; Young Country; Rose Eagle; 1914; Something Childish But Very Natural; KT and her sister; Hydrangeas; 'There is always something wonderfully touching'; 1915; Brave Love; The Little Governess; The Beautiful Miss Richardson; Spring Pictures; Rough Sketch; An Indiscreet Journey; Autumns: I; Autumns: II; Stay-laces; The Dark Hollow; The Aloe; Appendix A: Plan of Maata;.

About the Author

Gerri Kimber is an Associate Lecturer at The Open University. Vincent O'Sullivan, Professor Emeritus, Victoria University of Wellington, is the world's foremost Mansfield scholar and is President of the Katherine Mansfield Society.


The Edinburgh University Press volumes will finally make available, almost a century after her death, a complete, scholarly edition of the collected works of Katherine Mansfield. This, in other words, is an important publishing moment not only for New Zealand literature but for early twentieth-century literary scholarship more generally. And central to this venture are the two volumes of fiction, which themselves constitute a significant step towards the complete and definitive publication of the work of the period's most original, prolific, and indeed influential short story writer. --Andrew Bennett "The Journal of New Zealand Literature"

Kimber and O'Sullivan have produced a work of superb scholarship that is clearly also a labour of love. Their Edinburgh Edition of the Collected Works of Katherine Mansfield, containing every fragment as well as all the finished stories (some rescued from the meddlesome editorial hands of her second husband, John Middleton Murry, and restored to their original state), undeniably establishes her as a great modernist writer.--Elizabeth Wassell "The Irish Times"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Collected Fiction of Katherine Mansfield, 1916-1922: Edinburgh Edition of the Collected Works, volume 2 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top