SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Cold Granite (Logan McRae, Book 1)
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

It can be grim in Aberdeen. But now it's sheer, bloody murder.

About the Author

Stuart MacBride is the No.1 bestselling author of the DS Logan McRae series. His novels have won him the CWA Dagger in the Library, the Barry Award for Best Debut Novel, and Best Breakthrough Author at the ITV3 crime thriller awards. Stuart's other works include Halfhead, a near-future thriller, Sawbones, a novella aimed at adult emergent readers, and several short stories. He lives in the north-east of Scotland with his wife, Fiona, and cat, Grendel.

Reviews

DS Logan McRae must catch a mole in the department as well as a serial killer in Aberdeen, in this debut touted to be in the tradition of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. McBride lives in Aberdeen, Scotland. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Praise for Cold Granite:

`Ferocious and funny, this is Tartan Noir at its best' Val McDermid

`A riveting and gruesome debut' Telegraph

`A gripping debut' Mirror

Praise for Stuart MacBride:

`Fierce, unflinching and shot through with the blackest of humour; this is crime fiction of the highest order' Mark Billingham

`MacBride is a damned fine writer - no one does dark and gritty like him' Peter James

Relentless rain reflects the tormented mood that permeates MacBride's impressive debut set in Aberdeen, Scotland. Det. Sgt. Logan MacRae, back from a lengthy convalescence caused by a crazed suspect's knife attack, is plunged straightaway into the investigation of a brutally murdered child. To make matters worse, the victim's family learns of the death from a reporter before the police have a chance to inform them. Angered and embarrassed by the press leak, Logan, aided by WPC Jackie Watson, vows to expose the source within the precinct. Enter Colin Miller, flashy journalist, who befriends Logan, causing suspicious stares from Logan's superiors. More children go missing, and soon the populace of Aberdeen is screaming for blood. Further inciting the rabble, a notorious defense attorney earns acquittal for a habitual child molester. As a result, a hapless, ruined scholar-turned-street sweeper becomes a scapegoat for the chilling fear that grips the community. Logan must eliminate the distractions caused by the sensational publicity and summon his barely restored strength to anticipate the killer's next move. MacBride allows his characters their humanity, while weaving intriguing subplots in this edge-of-your-seat page-turner. Agent, Philip Patterson. (July 18) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top