SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Church of Lies

Product Details

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments. Introduction: My Name Is Flora Jessop. Part One: Pligville. 1. The End of Innocence. 2. Home Sweet Home. 3. The Rape. 4. The Great Escape. 5. Little Runaway. 6. The Prisoner. Part Two: Apostate. 7. Married. 8. Gone for Good. 9. No Boundaries. 10. The End of the Road. 11. Shauna. 12. No One's Property. 13. Family. Part Three: Outlaw. 14. Ruby. 15. Lost and Found. 16. Changes. 17. Rescuing the Fawns. 18. Running Away Again. 19. Laurene. 20. No Sympathy for the Devil. Part Four: No More Pain. 21. Fighting On. Epilogue. Notes. About the Authors. Index.


About the Author

Flora Jessop is a former victim of a polygamous community and a leading advocate for the recent rescue, separation, and ultimate liberation of the more than four hundred sexually abused FLDS children. Paul T. Brown is a best-selling author and a nationally acclaimed wildlife photographer. He is the author of the New York Times best seller Escape in Iraq: The Thomas Hamill Story , as well as Conserving Wild America, Paul Brown's Wild Visions, and Freedom Matters .


"For those who might feel polygamy is harmless, I suggest they read the just published book, "Church of Lies," by Flora Jessop and Paul T. Brown...Hers is not a pretty story,...But it merits reading as its core message is credible and valid." - The Examiner , February 21-23, 2009 " Church of Lies ... is a compelling and heartbreaking -- but hopeful -- read." ( Kansas City Star ) It is difficult for any person not affiliated with a group like the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (FLDS) to imagine the motivation for living in such a system. Jessop grew up within the strictures of the FLDS cult, subjected to its forced marriages and rampant sexual abuse. Her story is a harrowing but inspiring account of one woman's determination to break free. She relates in rather stark terms the horror of growing up in the polygamous community, the many pleasures she was denied as a child as her elders pursued a pseudo-holiness, forbidding the joys of childhood but engaging in horrible acts of pedophilia. Following her own liberation, she has worked tirelessly and fearlessly to liberate those who want out of the group. Readers will be repelled at some of what Jessop has to say, but in the end, they will be heartened by her efforts to free others in the grip of the FLDS leadership. (Feb.) ( Publishers Weekly , December 15, 2008)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Church of Lies: How Flora Jessop Escaped the Slavery and Sexual Abuse of the Fundamentalist Church of Latter Day Saints and Dedicated Her Life to the Continuing Rescue and Successful Liberation of Women and Children from This Notorious Sect on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top