Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Calling Major Tom
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

An irresistible debut novel of unlikely friendships and second chances, for readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Rosie Project.

About the Author

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies, published by Tor Books, and teaches journalism part-time at Leeds Trinity University. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

Reviews

Praise for the feel-good novel of 2017, Calling Major Tom:
A book about loneliness, about bravery, about the walls we all put up to protect ourselves and about how it is never ever too late to try to change.

* Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING *
A gorgeously quirky story about families, forgiveness and unexpected friendships - sheer joy. * Lucy Diamond, author of THE SECRETS OF HAPPINESS *
...a pure pleasure to read, full of well-observed characters and hope, and a much-needed antidote for these worrying times. * Julie Cohen, author of TOGETHER *
CALLING MAJOR TOM is blooming marvellous! Original, moving and mercilessly funny, this is an unashamedly feel-good story. I laughed, I cried and I cheered for the wonderful characters. Don't hesitate - fall in love with this book! * Miranda Dickinson, author of SEARCHING FOR A SILVER LINING *
Brilliant, funny, heartwarming and exactly what everyone needs right now. I loved it. * Rachael Lucas, author of Wildflower Bay *
A funny, moving, absorbing hot chocolate of a story - hot chocolate with chilli, that is, because there were bits were I laughed aloud! The pages just turned themselves - I can't wait for the next David Barnett. * Daniela Sacerdoti, author of CALLING YOU HOME *
A bitter-sweet, original blend of social realism and sci-fi; funny, engaging and honest. * Stuart Maconie *
A book about being alone and being together, being lost and being found. One man against infinity: what are the chances? Good, as it happens. I loved this book. One huge step for a man, no longer lost in space. * David Quantick *
funny, moving, sweetly life-affirming tale * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
Utterly irresistible * SUNDAY MIRROR *
Must read * Daily Express *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Calling Major Tom on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top