Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Brief Interviews With Hideous Men
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

* To be submitted for selective trade promtions * Review round-ups in the national press * Internet author activity

About the Author

David Foster Wallace's fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Playboy, Harper's and Paris Review. He has received the Whiting Award, the Paris Review Prize for humour, the QPB Joe Savago New Voices Award and an O. Henry Award.

Reviews

A host of talented narrators and actors-including television actors John Krasinski and Christopher Meloni-deliver nuanced performances of the late Wallace's classic. But it's the author himself who steals the show: his gentle, almost dreamy voice unlocks the elaborate syntax and releases the immense feeling concealed by the comedy and labyrinthine sentences. While the various narrators ably capture the essence of the text, Wallace's renditions of such stories as "Forever Overhead" and "Death Is Not the End" are transcendent. Essential listening for Wallace fans and a fine introduction for newcomers. A Little, Brown hardcover. (Oct.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

'Entertaining and dazzlingly innovative' Daily Telegraph 'Endlessly inventive' Evening Standard 'Exceptionally clever' Independent on Sunday 'As clever and intriguing as Wallace's past work' The Times 'The most significant writer of his generation' TLS 'Wallace's talent is such that you can't help wondering: how good can he get? Time Out 'Contains longish stretches of genius' Independent

Stories, character sketches, monologs, and conversations selected from the late Wallace's (www.davidfosterwallace.com) exquisitely written 1999 collection are here read by a cast including the author and 14 actors featured in John Krasinski's 2009 film adaptation of the work. Many of the characters, such as the cad who dumps a woman he has lured across the country, are despicable; others-e.g., a gang-rape survivor, a men's room attendant-are captured by hideous circumstances. Language and situations are sometimes graphic. The performances, including that by the author, are exceptional. Recommended for literary fiction and creative writing collections. ["Fans of Thomas Pynchon and Donald Barthelme will find comparable challenges here," read the review of the Little, Brown hc, LJ 5/1/99.-Ed.]-Janet Martin, Southern Pines P.L., NC Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Brief Interviews With Hideous Men on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top