Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Bouncer
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

David Gordon holds an MA in English and Comparative Literature and an MFA in Writing, both from Columbia University, and has worked in film, fashion, publishing and pornography. He is the author of The Serialist, which won the VCU/Cabell First Novel Award and was a finalist for an Edgar Award, and Mystery Girl, as well as a short story collection, White Tiger on Snow Mountain. His work has appeared in the Paris Review, the New York Times, and the Los Angeles Review of Books, among other publications. He was born and lives in New York City.

Reviews

Advance praise for The Bouncer "A brilliantly goofy caper novel in the grand tradition of Donald E. Westlake."--Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review "If you like a liberal dose of humor in your suspense fiction, then look no further than David Gordon's clever new caper...The Bouncer has 'film adaptation' written all over it."--BookPage "The Bouncer feels like the introduction to a series...loaded with interesting, quirky characters who are just different enough from those one usually encounters in a crime novel to shoulder its way to the top of your reading list...Gordon has garnered critical acclaim for his previously published fiction but deserves more notice in the public eye. This may be the book that provides that impetus. And somebody in the video industry needs to read it as well."--Bookreporter "[An] impressive crime novel...Gordon's sharply drawn supporting cast adds a nice balance to all the action. Cinematic writing makes this an obvious candidate for graphic novel or film adaptation."--Publishers Weekly, (starred review) "A madcap thriller...Gordon is an Elmore Leonard acolyte, but his latest novel is also working in the tradition of New York City crime: the gritty, cynical, and riotous novels that defined the city in the late 60s and 70s, especially the many wild stories of Donald E. Westlake."--CrimeReads, "Summer's Most Anticipated Crime, Mystery, and Thrillers "The Bouncer is a tour-de-force, ranging from underworld crime to a unique caper and a terrorist plot. David Gordon brings an outstanding new voice to the contemporary crime novel."--Robert Crais, bestselling author of The Wanted and other Elvis Cole novels "Fast, funny and tough, David Gordon's The Bouncer will toss you over his shoulder like King Kong and carry you away."--Max Allan Collins, author of Road to Perdition "David Gordon's The Bouncer is a treat--a hard-edged thriller that makes you feel good while you're reading it. Give it to someone. They'll thank you."--Thomas Perry, New York Times bestselling author of The Bomb Maker Praise for David Gordon: "Funny, with a satirical edge, and unlike some literary authors who play with genre, Gordon knows how to write a potboiler . . . An impressive debut."--Los Angeles Times, on The Serialist "An irreverent and funny twist on the classic whodunit--the kind of pulp-fiction mystery that made the careers of such writers as Jim Thompson, Raymond Chandler, and Dashiell Hammett."--GQ.com, on The Serialist "Gordon's sentences are crisp and often jarring. His plots unspool in strange, sometimes disturbing ways . . . enjoy the disorientation and to trust that you're in the hands of an earnest storyteller."--Paris Review Daily, on White Tiger on Snow Mountain "I have rarely come across a writer in such command of the English language. His sentences, characterizations and set pieces are things of beauty."--Washington Independent Review of Books, on Mystery Girl "David Gordon has gathered up our cultural trash and made of it something magnificent. In the tradition of Bolano, Chandler, and lots of dime novels that most of us pretend to know nothing about, The Serialist makes high art out of serial murders, pornography, soup dumplings and pulp fiction. I adore this book!"--Rivka Galchen, on The Serialist "David Gordon has written a passionate love story disguised as a mystery, a brainy tragicomedy, a bildungsroman wherein 'the gumshoe learns the shocking secret of himself.' His prose is by turns salacious, uproarious, and happily unhinged. A total delight."--Karen Russell, on Mystery Girl "Part mystery, part love story, wholly delightful."--Bustle, on Mystery Girl

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Bouncer on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top