SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Book of Summer
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment and I'll See You in Paris, MICHELLE GABLE graduated from The College of William & Mary. After a twenty-year career in finance, she now writes full time. Michelle lives in Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, with her husband, two daughters, and one lazy cat.

Reviews

Praise for The Book of Summer

"Michelle Gable has moved in on [Elin] Hilderbrand's home turf with a humorous and smartly written story of two generations of love and vacations." --Wall Street Journal

"A sure bet for women's-fiction fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Nantucket novels." --Booklist

"Gable cleverly illuminates the past, revealing how it mirrors the present. This is a splendid multigenerational novel about the strength of the women of Cliff House." --Publishers Weekly

"Gable develops fully rounded characters that readers feel as if they could reach out and touch. We want to know more about them and Gable gives us plenty." --Richmond Times-Dispatch

"These laid-back books epitomize the term 'beach read.'" --Coastal Living

"A must for any summer reading list." --The Boston Herald

"This time of year is meant for books to devour. Vacations, the beach, lazy afternoons all call for a good book that allows you to escape. Michelle Gable knows how to deliver." --Newport News Daily Press

"It's Gable's ability to weave a family's tale through the musings of summer visitors, war, relationship drama and a smattering of sexual tension that makes it a must for any summer reading list." --Fort Worth Star- Telegram

"A deep look at the strength of women, this will tantalize readers as they, along with Bess, learn of her family." --Parkersburg News + Sentinel

"The Book of Summer is delightful. The three main women in the story are quirky creatures with major differences, but their family bond shines through, making this a charming, profane, funny, and touching read...A perfect book to bring to the beach, Michelle Gable's fourth novel is sure to appeal to readers of Elin Hilderbrand and Kristan Higgins." --Shelf Awareness

"This book warmed my soul and I couldn't wait to finish it! I aggressively read like the last third of the book because I was so wrapped up in it! It was wonderful and I would highly recommend this book to other readers! Though now I want to binge read all of her other novels because her narration style and plot points were all wonderfully thought out." --The Lit Bitch

"If you enjoy historical beach reads that focus on family, you'll love The Book of Summer. I especially appreciated how the past intertwined with the present and the message of female strength throughout the novel. I definitely recommend this one!" --Confessions of a Book Addict

"A great escape!" --The Fine Books Blog

Praise for Michelle Gable:

"Plot-master Gable's (I'll See You In Paris) affection for hidden treasures emerges again in her second absorbing novel. Readers are kept guessing 'til the end in this sweet story of love, mystery, art, literature, and Paris. As complex and moving as Naomi Wood's Mrs. Hemingway and Liz Trenow's The Forgotten Seamstress." --Booklist

"Gable (A Paris Apartment) writes an engaging story, and both worlds--Annie's in 2001 and Pru's in 1973--are easy to slide into. Readers will root for both women as they uncover family secrets and discover hidden aspects of themselves. Readers of Kate Morton and those who enjoy family-centered mysteries will approve highly of this book." --Library Journal

"Gable (I'll See You In Paris) has crafted another page-turner of a good read, filled with history, mystery and a dash of romance. This is the sort of fun, escapist read that is beloved by books clubs. There are characters to love, characters to hate, enticing settings and a requisite amount of plot twists." --Fort Worth Star-Telegram

"Michelle Gable (I'll See You In Paris)...elegantly navigates the narratives of the generations, making each set of characters complex and likable." --Richmond Times Dispatch

"Gable's (I'll See You In Paris)novel provides a wonderful, highly literate mystery...stories within stories, an almost Wuthering Heights narrative complexity." --The Roanoke Times

"Gable (A Paris Apartment) tells an engaging story of a fascinating, largely forgotten historical figure against the backdrop of two fledgling romances." --Kirkus Reviews

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Book of Summer on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top