SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Blue Notebook
By

Rating
New or Used: 3 copies from $4.94
New or Used: 3 copies from $4.94
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Will appeal to fans of Monica Ali, Khaled Hosseini, Andrea Levy, Meera Syal This debut novel is controversial and the subject matter will arouse debate and be a focus for publicity River of Words is inspired by a visit the author made to Mumbai where he saw a young prostitute in the Road of Cages who gave him the idea for the character of Batuk The author is a British citizen living in the US. He is a professor of medicine working at the Mayo clinic James is involved in setting up the Batuk Foundation for the eradication of child prostitution in Mumbai

About the Author

James A. Levine is a Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic. In collaboration with the United Nations, James has focused his work on the plight of women and children in low-income countries. In his scientific work, Dr Levine has regularly appeared on CNN, BBC, CBC and the Discovery Channel, and has been repeatedly featured in the New York Times, USA Today, Time, The Wall Street Journal, US News, The London Times and many other major US and international papers.

Reviews

'this haunting debut will disturb and inspire readers in equal measure.' WATERSTONE'S BOOKS QUARTERLY 'starkly compelling' SUNDAY HERALD 'Never lapsing into mawkishness or self pity, this elegantly crafted novel reminded me of The Diary of Anne Frank... An important book, not easily forgotten.' NEWBOOKS MAGAZINE 'James A Levine paints a picture of innocence and optimism in the face of unbelievable cruelty.' STAR MAGAZINE 'Reading The Blue Notebook, James Levine's fictionalised diary of a Mumbai child prostitute will seize your heart... her plight is beyond bleak, but in the words Batuk pours into her notebook, this starved-sparrow of a heroine finds laughter and salvation.' JEWISH CHRONICLE

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Blue Notebook on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top