SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Black for Remembrance
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Carlene Thompson is the author of Last Whisper, Nowhere to Hide, and Don't Close Your Eyes, among other books. She attended college at Marshall University and earned her Ph.D. in English from Ohio State University. She taught at the University of Rio Grande before leaving to focus on her writing full-time. Besides writing, she spends her time caring for the many dogs and cats she's adopted. A native West Virginian, she lives with her husband Keith in Point Pleasant, West Virginia.

Reviews

YA-- Caroline Webb's daughter Hailey has been dead for 19 years, the victim of a brutal unresolved kidnapping and murder by decapitation. Now as Hailey's 25th birthday arrives, mysterious bouquets of black silk orchids appear beside the bodies of three murder victims who are linked obliquely to the devastating past events. Soon all of Caroline's second family is dragged into a nightmare of messages written in blood, phone calls from a piteous crying child, and a resurrected clown doll belonging to the dead girl. All the horrors of the event that tore Caroline's first marriage apart are stalking her now as danger threatens her eight-year-old daughter. Thompson has written a well-plotted thriller that includes a clever twist at the end. It's sure to please readers who pride themselves on sniffing out clues. Definitely a book for fans of Mary Higgins Clark.-- Mary T. Gerrity, Queen Anne School, Upper Marlboro, MD

"Loaded with mystery and suspense...Mary Higgins Clark fans take note." --Kirkus Reviews "Thompson creates smart, interesting characters the reader cares about within a gripping suspense story." --Judith Kelman, author of After the Fall Loaded with mystery and suspense...Mary Higgins Clark fans take note. Kirkus Reviews Thompson creates smart, interesting characters the reader cares about within a gripping suspense story. Judith Kelman, author of After the Fall " Loaded with mystery and suspense...Mary Higgins Clark fans take note. "Kirkus Reviews" Thompson creates smart, interesting characters the reader cares about within a gripping suspense story. "Judith Kelman, author of After the Fall"" "Loaded with mystery and suspense...Mary Higgins Clark fans take note."--"Kirkus Reviews" "Thompson creates smart, interesting characters the reader cares about within a gripping suspense story."--Judith Kelman, author of" After the Fall"

Twenty years ago Caroline Webb's five-year-old daughter Hayley was kidnapped and murdered, her body decapitated and burned. The case was never solved. Caroline's second marriage, to a compassionate older man, and the birth of two children, Gregg, now 15, and Melinda, 8, have helped to ease her nightmares. This inventive and forceful psychological thriller traces the bizarre, terrifying events that convince Caroline that a new horror is emerging--Hayley has come back not only to seek revenge on her killer, but to murder her half-sister Melinda as well. She hears Hayley's voice calling to her in a shop; she sees ``Help me Mommy'' written in blood on the bathroom mirror. Caroline's husband seems only mildly concerned and the police are skeptical, but when three people with ties to the original kidnapping are murdered, one by one, detective Tom Jerome reopens the old case and finds that it was badly mishandled. First novelist Thompson controls a vigorous cast of increasingly puzzled and frightened characters, while astute detective work and even a hint of the occult keep the suspense level consistently high. (Jan.)

This spooky first novel is a tightly woven mixture of suspense, action, and mystery. Caroline's six-year-old daughter Hayley was kidnapped 19 years ago. Her beheaded, burned body was found, but her murderer was never caught. Now a serial killer is on the loose, brutally murdering people who were in some way connected with the child. Bouquets of black silk orchids are found near the bodies with cards scrawled in a childish hand, `` Black for remembrance .'' Has Hayley returned from the grave for ghostly revenge? Or is a human agent responsible for the grisly killings? False clues sprinkled throughout keep the reader guessing (usually incorrectly), but the solution makes perfect sense. Sure to be compared to Mary Higgins Clark's best-seller Where Are the Children? ( LJ 3/1/75), this nearly flawless suspense novel has more than enough merit to stand on its own.-- Rebecca House Stankowski, Purdue Univ. Calu met, Hammond, Ind.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Black for Remembrance on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top