Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Bitter Side of Sweet
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of Linda Sue Park and A Long Way modern-day Ivory Coast.

About the Author

Tara Sullivan is the author of the award-winning and critically acclaimed Golden Boy. She was born in India and spent her childhood living in Bangladesh, Ecuador, Bolivia, and the Dominican Republic with her parents, who were international aid workers. She received a BA in Spanish literature and cognitive science from the University of Virginia, and an MA in Latin American Studies and an MPA in nonprofit management from Indiana University. She currently lives with her family in Massachusetts.

Reviews

Praise for The Bitter Side of Sweet:

"A gripping and painful portrait of modern-day child slavery in the cacao plantations of the Ivory Coast."-The Wall Street Journal

* "A tender, harrowing story of family, friendship, and the pursuit of freedom."-Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "In crisp, accessible prose, Sullivan draws readers into a most compelling story of survival under unspeakable hardship, bravery, and teamwork... Absorbing and important."-Booklist, starred review

* "[A] heart-wrenching survival tale."-Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "An engaging story that will engender empathy in readers."-School Library Journal, starred review

* "Curriculum connections abound and even reluctant readers will be drawn to the suspenseful plot and distinctive characters."-SLC, starred review

"First-world readers will learn much about how their pleasures are underwritten by the labor of their third- world peers...The resolution...is an as-good-as-it-gets kind of compromise that leaves much room for the activism advocated for in the author's note that follows."-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This beautiful story of love triumphing over cruelty and profit stands out as an excellent book discussion choice or classroom study."-VOYA


Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Bitter Side of Sweet on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top