Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Birthing House
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Christopher Ransom is a native of Boulder, Colorado, who has lived in New York and Los Angeles. He now resides with his wife and three rescued dogs in a 142-year-old former birthing house in Mineral Point, Wisconsin.

Reviews

"A blend of supernatural horror and psychological thriller, Ransom's impressive debut chronicles a couple's descent into madness after they purchase a 140-year-old Victorian house in rural Wisconsin . . . this addictively readable ghost story will keep readers up all night, with the lights on, of course." --Publishers Weekly "A biting and well-written novel... The kind of genuinely scary story that makes little hairs stand up on the back of your neck... This is a rare thing: a ghost story with class. Read it." --Peter Blauner, author of the New York Times bestseller Slipping Into Darkness "The birth of an exciting new voice in dark fiction... The Birthing House is a book that will leave you holding your breath." --Scott Nicholson, Bram Stoker Award finalist, author of They Hunger "Either I don't know my horror stories (and I do know my horror stories) or Christopher Ransom's The Birthing House was so all-out scary that it kept me up until the wee hours in a way few novels have since Carrie went to the prom.... This book is killer." --Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean "Terrifying and beautiful. I couldn't put The Birthing House down." --Sara Gran, author of Dope "The Birthing House is as scary as they come.... It's quite simply a terrific novel." --Marcus Sakey, author of The Blade Itself "An exceptional debut... Ransom's style mimics that of the early Stephen King and Dan Simmons's horror fiction (e.g., A Winter Haunting)." --Library Journal (starred review) "A damn creepy, very original ghost story." --Jack Ketchum, Bram Stoker Award winner, author of The Lost "Fans of Shirley Jackson and Clive Cussler can rejoice, for a new voice in wickedly scary fiction has arrived." --Indiebound "A stunning debut--swaddling the reader in dread from the very first sentence, and spiraling into a heart-stopping climax." --Michael Marshall, author of The Straw Men "Ransom has a distinctive narrative voice, and a Stephen King-like gift for the dreadful lurking behind the everyday. . . . The novel builds to a gripping climax that will make you think twice, maybe three times, about making an offer on that beautiful old fixer-upper." --SmartMoney magazine "The Birthing House is the literary equivalent to Nirvana's semaphore effort In Utero . . . themed with birth, babies, and new beginnings . . . inviting the reader to share with [Ransom] an advent of existence that is steeped in blood and mystery. It's full of life, the prose like that of a professional, and certainly not a debut." --HorrorScope A blend of supernatural horror and psychological thriller, Ransom's impressive debut chronicles a couple's descent into madness after they purchase a 140-year-old Victorian house in rural Wisconsin . . . this addictively readable ghost story will keep readers up all night, with the lights on, of course. "Publishers Weekly" A biting and well-written novel The kind of genuinely scary story that makes little hairs stand up on the back of your neck This is a rare thing: a ghost story with class. Read it. "Peter Blauner, author of the New York Times bestseller Slipping Into Darkness" The birth of an exciting new voice in dark fiction "The Birthing House" is a book that will leave you holding your breath. "Scott Nicholson, Bram Stoker Award finalist, author of They Hunger" Either I don't know my horror stories (and I do know my horror stories) or Christopher Ransom's "The Birthing House" was so all-out scary that it kept me up until the wee hours in a way few novels have since Carrie went to the prom . This book is killer. "Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean" Terrifying and beautiful. I couldn't put "The Birthing House" down. "Sara Gran, author of Dope" "The Birthing House" is as scary as they come . It's quite simply a terrific novel. "Marcus Sakey, author of The Blade Itself" An exceptional debut Ransom's style mimics that of the early Stephen King and Dan Simmons's horror fiction (e.g., "A Winter Haunting"). "Library Journal (starred review)" A damn creepy, very original ghost story. "Jack Ketchum, Bram Stoker Award winner, author of The Lost" Fans of Shirley Jackson and Clive Cussler can rejoice, for a new voice in wickedly scary fiction has arrived. "Indiebound" A stunning debut--swaddling the reader in dread from the very first sentence, and spiraling into a heart-stopping climax. "Michael Marshall, author of The Straw Men" Ransom has a distinctive narrative voice, and a Stephen King-like gift for the dreadful lurking behind the everyday. . . . The novel builds to a gripping climax that will make you think twice, maybe three times, about making an offer on that beautiful old fixer-upper. "SmartMoney magazine" The Birthing House is the literary equivalent to Nirvana's semaphore effort In Utero . . . themed with birth, babies, and new beginnings . . . inviting the reader to share with [Ransom] an advent of existence that is steeped in blood and mystery. It's full of life, the prose like that of a professional, and certainly not a debut. "HorrorScope"" "A blend of supernatural horror and psychological thriller, Ransom's impressive debut chronicles a couple's descent into madness after they purchase a 140-year-old Victorian house in rural Wisconsin . . . this addictively readable ghost story will keep readers up all night, with the lights on, of course." --"Publishers Weekly" "A biting and well-written novel... The kind of genuinely scary story that makes little hairs stand up on the back of your neck... This is a rare thing: a ghost story with class. Read it."--Peter Blauner, author of the "New York Times "bestseller "Slipping Into Darkness" "The birth of an exciting new voice in dark fiction... "The Birthing House" is a book that will leave you holding your breath."--Scott Nicholson, Bram Stoker Award finalist, author of "They Hunger" "Either I don't know my horror stories (and I do know my horror stories) or Christopher Ransom's "The Birthing House" was so all-out scary that it kept me up until the wee hours in a way few novels have since Carrie went to the prom.... This book is killer." --Jacquelyn Mitchard, "New York"" Times "bestselling author of "The Deep End of the Ocean" "Terrifying and beautiful. I couldn't put "The Birthing House" down." --Sara Gran, author of "Dope" ""The Birthing House" is as scary as they come.... It's quite simply a terrific novel." --Marcus Sakey, author of "The Blade Itself" "An exceptional debut... Ransom's style mimics that of the early Stephen King and Dan Simmons's horror fiction (e.g., "A Winter Haunting")." --"Library Journal" (starred review) "A damn creepy, very original ghost story." --Jack Ketchum, Bram Stoker Award winner, author of "The Lost" "Fans of Shirley Jackson and Clive Cussler can rejoice, for a new voice in wickedly scary fiction has arrived." --Indiebound "A stunning debut--swaddling the reader in dread from the very first sentence, and spiraling into a heart-stopping climax." --Michael Marshall, author of "The Straw Men" "Ransom has a distinctive narrative voice, and a Stephen King-like gift for the dreadful lurking behind the everyday. . . . The novel builds to a gripping climax that will make you think twice, maybe three times, about making an offer on that beautiful old fixer-upper." --"SmartMoney "magazine "The Birthing House is the literary equivalent to Nirvana's semaphore effort In Utero . . . themed with birth, babies, and new beginnings . . . inviting the reader to share with [Ransom] an advent of existence that is steeped in blood and mystery. It's full of life, the prose like that of a professional, and certainly not a debut." --HorrorScope "A blend of supernatural horror and psychological thriller, Ransom's impressive debut chronicles a couple's descent into madness after they purchase a 140-year-old Victorian house in rural Wisconsin . . . this addictively readable ghost story will keep readers up all night, with the lights on, of course." -"Publishers Weekly" "A biting and well-written novel... The kind of genuinely scary story that makes little hairs stand up on the back of your neck... This is a rare thing: a ghost story with class. Read it."-Peter Blauner, author of the "New York Times "bestseller "Slipping Into Darkness" "The birth of an exciting new voice in dark fiction... "The Birthing House" is a book that will leave you holding your breath."-Scott Nicholson, Bram Stoker Award finalist, author of "They Hunger" "Either I don't know my horror stories (and I do know my horror stories) or Christopher Ransom's "The Bi

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Birthing House on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top