Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Bird King
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

G. Willow Wilson is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Alif the Unseen, the memoir The Butterfly Mosque, and the graphic novels Cairo, Air, and Vixen. She co-created the celebrated comic book series Ms. Marvel starring Kamala Khan, winner of the 2015 Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story, and recently debuted as writer of the Wonder Woman comics. She currently lives in Seattle.

Reviews

Praise for The Bird King

"I loved this book so much . . . The Bird King is ostensibly the story of a journey, of the limits to escape--but it is also a journey into story, and faith, and refuge, the family we choose and the friends we find. It's deeply beautiful and wondrously sad, and I can't tell if it ended too quickly or if I just needed it not to--if I just wanted to dwell in a home built out of story for a little longer yet."--NPR

"I truly cannot remember the last time I read a book that made me feel the way The Bird King made me feel . . . No summary, no quotes, no analysis of this book can communicate the all-encompassing pleasure of reading it, paragraph after paragraph, page after page. Read it, and treasure it."--Arts Fuse

"The Bird King is a compelling, beautifully paced, and beautifully written historical fantasy . . . Wilson skillfully navigates the dualities of love and hate, freedom and captivity, faith and doubt, choice and obligation, and finds all the shades of gray between them. I laughed, I cried, I bit my nails in terror, and I wanted nothing more than to continue spending time with Fatima, Hassan, and their merry band of misfits. An amazing new book from a genuine talent; and while I love her comics work, The Bird King makes me hope that we won't have to wait another 7 years before her next novel."--Book Riot

"Steeped in magical realism . . . [and] enchanting otherworldly trappings, it is primarily a novel of ideas. [The Bird King] grapples with who we are, how we love, [and] why we worship . . . [with] prose so vivid and original that one can only read it with envy."--Tor.com

"The Bird King is marvelous in the deepest sense--a treasure-house of a novel, thrilling, tender, funny, and achingly gorgeous. I loved it."--Lev Grossman, author of the Magicians trilogy

"A gorgeous, ambitious meditation on faith, platonic love, magic and even storytelling itself, with a trio of unforgettable personalities serving as its beating, endlessly vital heart. The Bird King is a triumph . . . Wilson has once again proven that she's one of the best fantasy writers working today, with a book that's just waiting for readers to get happily lost in its pages."--BookPage

"A fun, immersive adventure that moves at a brisk pace through lush settings, across dangerous terrain, and eventually out to the open sea . . . [The Bird King] will appeal to readers of S. A. Chakraborty's City of Brass, Helene Wecker's The Golem and the Jinni, and Naomi Novik's fairy tale-esque Uprooted."--Booklist (starred review)

"The Bird King takes a time period that's passed into clich and makes it new and strange again. In this novel, the real runs alongside the fantastic, one informing the other, G. Willow Wilson's eye for detail and her titanic imagination pumping together like pistons. She's incredible. The Bird King has big things to say about states and souls, and it's going to take you on a rollicking ride while it says them. I was fascinated and riveted and, by the end, deeply moved."--Robin Sloan, author of Sourdough "A breathtaking historical fantasy . . . To say Wilson is a talented storyteller does not adequately capture the magnificent dimensions of her work . . . The Bird King [is] a more-than-worthy follow-up to Alif the Unseen. It's not necessary to read one before the other, but only a fool would miss them both."--Shelf Awareness "Teeming with secrets, violence, and magic, G. Willow Wilson's characters come alive in a backdrop of 15th century Spain that is at once sinister and lush. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the world held me captive and I'm haunted by it still."--Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes

"A lovely fable set during the final days of the Reconquista . . . [The Bird King is] a thoughtful and beautiful balance between the real and the fantastic."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[A] swashbuckling second novel amid an epic clash between cultures."--Publishers Weekly PRAISE FOR ALIF THE UNSEEN

"G. Willow Wilson has a deft hand with myth and with magic, and the kind of smart, honest writing mind that knits together and bridges cultures and people. You should read what she writes."--Neil Gaiman, author of Stardust and American Gods, on Alif the Unseen

"[G. Willow Wilson] works magic . . . Ms. Wilson has not set out to copy J.K. Rowling's books or anyone else's; she has her own fertile imagination and fanciful narrative style."--New York Times

"Wilson has a Dickensian gift for summoning a city and peopling it with memorable characters."--Washington Post

"Wilson seems to delight in establishing, then confounding, any expectations readers may have . . . For those who view American fiction as provincial, or dominated by competent but safe work, Wilson's novel offers a resounding, heterodox alternative."--New York Times Book Review

"Alif the Unseen is one of those novels that has you rushing to find what else the author has written, and eagerly anticipating what she'll do next."--Matt Ruff, author of Fool on the Hill and The Mirage

"Alif the Unseen richly rewards believers in the power of the written word."--Seattle Times

"Wilson refreshingly, and without condescension, uses Islamic folklore to tell a story of state oppression, resistance and hope."--Guardian (UK)

"Wilson's voice is magical and effortless, blending real-world issues with the wonderment of Arabian fairy tales."--Philadelphia Inquirer

"A ferocious new voice in fiction."--BookPage

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Bird King on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top