Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Anxious Pleasures

"Anxious Pleasures" takes Franz Kafka's profoundly haunting and sad comic novella, "The Metamorphosis," and reanimates it through the vantage points of those who surrounded Gregor Samsa during his plight. All the familiar characters are here, including the hysterical mother, stern father, faithless sister, and the pragmatic household cook. But we are also introduced to, among others, the would-be author downstairs who daydreams of the narrative he may someday compose and a young woman in contemporary London reading Kafka's slim book for the first time.
Or do they all comprise a few of the disturbing dreams from which Gregor is about to snap awake one morning to find himself transformed into a monstrous vermin? In the tradition of Michael Cunningham's "The Hours" and John Gardner's "Grendel," Olsen's novel not only represents a collaboration with a ghost, but, too, a celebration, augmentation, complication, and devoted unwriting of a momentously influential text.
Product Details


"This book is proof that there are pleasures of the mind." -- Kathy Acker "Olsen is among the finest writers of social critique and speculative fiction today." "Smart and moving and elegant, its seemingly offhand scenes are as effortlessly poignant as a handful of old snapshots." -- Shelley Jackson "Fancifully embroidering into the narrative Nietzsche's themes and aphorisms--'Every sentence is a kiss'--Olsen is a fine and daring writer, equal to the material."

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Anxious Pleasures: A Novel After Kafka on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top