SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Adam Runaway
By

Rating
The year is 1721 and handsome young Adam Hanaway has arrived in Lisbon, where his uncle is a merchant, hoping to restore the family fortune that was devastated the previous year. But almost nothing turns out as Adam planned. His family's welcome is cool and his rise to the top is thwarted by his uncle's treacherous head clerk, Bartolomeu Gomes. Nor is Adam, with his gaudy clothes and swagger, an immediate success with fellow merchants. Of course there are many pretty distractions around, such as the incomparably sweet Gabriella. Then darker forces intervene and Adam is expelled from the family firm for a crime of which he is innocent. Somehow he must clear his name, win his love, and make his fortune.
Product Details

Promotional Information

A stunning, rambunctious historical novel which delivers all the satisfaction of the great nineteenth-century classics of Dickens, Thackeray and FieldingPerfect for readers of Philippa Gregory

About the Author

Peter Prince won the Somerset Maugham Award for Play Things, his first novel. For his screenplays, he has won a BAFTA, a Writers Guild of Great Britain Award and the Mystery Writers' of America Special Award.

Reviews

'A stunning historical novel with an unforgettable hero' Publishing News 'Adam, with all his bawdy romps and exciting adventures, emerges as a very modern hero. A must-read for any lover of thrilling historical romance' Daily Mirror 'Love, death and greed: classic ingredients for any ripping yarn, but it's the setting that makes this novel so memorable, conjuring up eighteenth-century Lisbon, where wealth and poverty, magic and intrigue, cosmopolitanism and prejudice exist side by side' Mail on Sunday 'Highly readable ... Prince writes with zest and strong visual detail, combining a present-day immediacy with a flavour of the past in Adam's first-person narrative. Exhilarating to read and with the assured feel of solid research behind it, this is a quality historical novel' Clare Colvin, Daily Mail

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Adam Runaway on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top