The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This hilarious middle-grade series about unforgettable Billie Upton Green, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, marks the arrival of major new author-illustrator Jen Carney.

About the Author

Jen Carney is an author-illustrator living in Lancashire with her wife, three children and an array of animals. She wrote her debut novel to celebrate diverse, contemporary and slightly bonkers families.

Reviews

For readers of seven-plus, Jen Carney's The Accidental Diary of BUG (Puffin) introduces sparky eponymous heroine Billie Upton Green . . . This cheery, highly illustrated diary story, more rooted in contemporary reality than Liz Pichon's Tom Gates books, is the first in a series that's sure to find devoted fans. * The Guardian *
A sparky, funny new series perfect for fans of Diary of A Wimpy Kid. * Daily Mail *
Fun, funny, inclusive and warm-hearted, these books are pure, cheery joy * Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs *
Ideal for fans of Tom Gates, or Pamela Butchart's books . . . a wonderful new series. * The Week Junior, Book of the Week *
I really enjoyed reading the adventures of Billie Upton Green (not Bug!!)! Billie is a delightful and relatable character, and her escapades are both funny and heart-warming. I particularly enjoyed the inclusivity in the text, and it's a real joy to see such positive LGBTQ+ representation in children's books. Jen has written a real treat for younger readers, and the artwork is fabulous, too! * L. D. Lapinski, The Strangeworlds Travel Agency *
Readers will love Billie's adventures, and her funny, doodle-filled way of sharing them, as much as they love the Dork Diaries or Wimpy Kid stories, and it's great too to see such a warm celebration of diverse family life. * Andrea, LoveReading4Kids *

Jen Carney writes family life with warmth, nuance and a phenomenal eye for detail. Plus, she knows how to make kids laugh . . . and I mean totally unreserved roll-on-the-floor belly laugh. Billie Upton Green is a firm favourite in our house.

* Emma Mylrea, author of Curse of the Dearmad *

Carney's lively, upbeat Billie is a welcome inclusive addition to the world of illustrated diaries. Her two mums feel like people I know, her weariness at explaining their existence just as familiar - and Billie herself is a treat, from her passion for biscuits to her determined pursuit of the school thief. Fun, funny, and deceptively clever. * Susie Day, author of Max Kowalski Didn't Mean It *
The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.
is immense fun and is the first book I have read in a single sitting in a long time! It's warm, funny and has the best joke involving childbirth that you could put into a children's book!

* Louie Stowell, author of Otherland *

A brilliant, hilarious and heartwarming book! I'm pretty sure if I'd read this as a child it wouldn't have taken me quite so long to understand and accept my own queer identity. Amazing for normalising same-sex parenting and adoption, completely laugh-out-loud funny and a feast for the eyes with lots of fun and engaging doodles. I loved it!

* Abigail Balfe, A Different Sort of Normal *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. (The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top