Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The 7th Victim
By

Rating
The Dead Eyes Killer lurks in the backyard of the famed FBI Profiling Unit. His brutal murders, unlike any others previously seen, confound the local task force, despite the gifted profiling skills of Special Agent Karen Vail. But along with Vails insight and expertise comes considerable personal and professional baggage. On leave pending a review of her assault on her abusive ex-husband, Vail must battle forces determined to bring her down, as she fights to find Dead Eyes before he murders more young women. But the seventh victim is the key to all that stirs this killer...the key that will unlock secrets perhaps too painful for Vail to bear. These are secrets that threaten to destroy her, secrets that will bring down her storied and promising career. For Karen Vail, the truth rests at the heart of a lie. And uncovering it could get her killed...With material meticulously researched during seven years of study with the Bureaus vaunted profiling unit, Alan Jacobson brings refreshing realism and unprecedented accuracy to his pages, as he takes readers behind the scenes of the FBI Academy, where he worked with the actual profilers who have studied and interviewed twenty years worth of serial killers.
Product Details

About the Author

Alan Jacobson received his bachelor of arts degree in English writing from Queens College of the City of New York, and his doctorate from Palmer College of Chiropractic West in San Jose, California. He has extensive experience testifying as an expert witness, which has exposed him to the many strengths and weaknesses of the judicial system. His previous novels include "The Hunted" and "False Accusations." Alan lives in northern California.

Reviews

Jacobson's third novel (after False Accusations and The Hunted) has all the ingredients for a best-selling psychological thriller: strong female lead, multifaceted serial killer, compelling plot, and just enough secrets and surprises to keep the adrenaline racing. The hunt is on for the notorious Dead Eyes killer who is preying on young women. Karen Vail is a gritty yet vulnerable FBI profiler with a precarious personal life. As Vail and the task force pursue the serial killer, readers are drawn into the inner sanctum of a profiler while simultaneously privy to the killer's crazed thoughts. The murders rapidly escalate, and Vail's personal life is careening out of control, threatening to derail her investigation. When the killer strikes a seventh time, surprising revelations provide a shocking finale. The author's seven years of study with the FBI's profiling unit have helped him craft a riveting, authentically detailed thriller that will ensnare readers. Strongly recommended for all popular fiction collections.--Mary Todd Chesnut, Northern Kentucky Univ. Lib., Highland Heights Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Robert Ressler, world renowned FBI Profiler (ret.), founder of VICAP (FBI Violent Criminal Apprehension Program), recognized "father" of serial killer research, international lecturer and bestselling author "As one of the founding fathers of the FBI profiling unit, I can unequivocally state that "The Seventh Victim" sets a new standard for serial killer novels. Like "Silence of the Lambs" did 20 years ago, "The Seventh Victim" redefines the genre and brings it into the 21st century. With meticulous research and dead-on accuracy, Alan Jacobson has not only written a gripping, twisting thriller, he's created a must-read book." Andrew F. Gulli, Managing Editor, "The Strand Magazine" "There are thrillers which you read once, then throw away. Alan Jacobson has written a book that is fast paced and intense and will make sure you'll read it over and over again. A masterful work--dark, creepy, yet at the same time you won't be able to put it down." James Patterson, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Double Cross" "Karen Vail is as compelling a character as any created by Patricia Cornwell, or yours truly. "The Seventh Victim" is packed with neat surprises." Nelson DeMille, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wild Fire" "Alan Jacobson is a hell of a writer, and his lead character, Karen Vail, is a hell of a lady: tough, smart, funny, and very believable. "The Seventh Victim" is an impressively researched novel about serial murder packed into a tightly twisting plot. Very scary, and very good. This reads like a Nelson DeMille book. And I should know." James Rollins, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Judas Strain" "I've always been a fan of Alan Jacobson's thrillers, but his latest novel, "The 7th Victim," is a quantum leap in terror and suspense. Tautly written and brilliantly executed, here is a masterpiece of horror and murder. Read it with the doors locked and the lights blazing." Tess Gerritsen, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Bone Garden" "In the fictional world of criminal profilers, Karen Vail is a knockout, tough and brilliant. In "The 7th Victim" she truly meets her match, and the twists and turns will astonish you." ReaderToReader.com "Fast moving with edge of your seat suspense. Jacobson has...breathed life into his characters, making them complex and believable. "The 7th Victim" exceeded my expectations in realism and the dramatic outcome was both shocking and plausible. I'd gladly to recommend this story to anyone who enjoys a well-planned thriller with all of the suspense and mystery to back it up." "Booklist" .,."action...plot twists...the ending is a shocker. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Nelson DeMille, and James Patterson." John Lescroart, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Betrayal" "Alan Jacobson pulls off a winning combination in The 7th Victim -- a strong, credible, likable heroine; high-velocity narrative drive; a non-stop, twisting, believable plot; and a satisfying surprise of an ending. Thrillers don't get much more thrilling than this one." Stephen J. Cannell, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Three Shirt Deal" "Another Jacobson twister. The ending will shock you." "Library Journal" "Jacobson's third novel has all the ingredients for a best-selling psychological thriller: strong femaile lead, multifaceted serial killer, compelling plot, and just enough secrets and surprises to keep the adrenaline racing." Harriet Klausner "Fans will enjoy this enthralling, entertaining thriller..."

In Jacobson's tepid third thriller (after Hunted and False Accusations), FBI profiler Karen Vail is obsessed with bringing to justice the Dead Eyes Killer, who's gruesomely slain several women in Virginia. The action alternates between Karen's attempts to unravel the clues left behind at the crime scenes and glimpses of the Dead Eyes Killer himself as he stalks future victims. A messy divorce and custody battle threaten to distract Karen, as do her tentative relationship with a local detective and disturbing revelations about her family history. The author fails to put a fresh spin on any of the genre's cliches--the serial killer who taunts law enforcement, the FBI agent with an implausible connection to the case, the chaotic crime scene that contains clues only the hero can crack. Though Jacobson's research into the FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit is evident, he overloads his story with too much information and unbelievable coincidences. 5-city author tour. (Nov.) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The 7th Victim on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top